Recent Searches
Clear
Haleakala Maui Sunset Tour

Haleakala Maui Sunset Tour

star-4.564 Reviews
|
Badge of Excellence
|
Kapalua, United States
Safety measures
icon8 hours  (Approx.)
Pickup from select hotels
Mobile ticket
iconOffered in: English and 7 more
Safety measures
icon8 hours  (Approx.)
Pickup from select hotels
Mobile ticket
iconOffered in: English and 7 more

Don’t worry—here are some similar options


Safety measures
icon8 hours  (Approx.)
Pickup from select hotels
Mobile ticket
iconOffered in: English and 7 more

Overview

Many travelers summit Haleakala for the sunrise but you can beat the crowds by visiting for an equally scenic sunset instead. Enjoy the best sunset view on Maui from the island's tallest peak. After enjoying the magical evening light show, you'll then head to Café O’Lei for a 3-course meal to complete the experience.
  • Combination tour: Haleakala sunset and 3-course dinner
  • Hassle-free pickup and drop-off from most hotels
  • View the volcanic crater from the Haleakala Visitor Center
  • Avoid the sunrise crowds on Haleakala by visiting for sunset instead

Why Travelers Choose This Tour

Beat the sunrise crowds and watch the sunset from the top of Mt. Haleakala instead.
Saved to wishlist!
Air-conditioned vehicle
Hotel pickup and drop-off (select hotels only)
Driver/guide
Gratuities
Dinner

Departure Point

Traveler pickup is offered
We pickup from most hotels on Maui approximately 1:30 PM - 2:30 PM.
This list includes additional pick up locations.

Coconut Inn 181 Hui Rd F, Lahaina, HI 96761
Hale Royal Condo 3788 Lower Honoapiilani Rd, Lahaina, HI 96761
Kahana Manor 4310 Lower Honoapiilani Rd # 108, Lahaina, HI 96761
Pohailani Maui Resort 4435 Lower Honoapiilani Rd, Lahaina, HI 96761
Hale Ono Loa 3823 Lower Honoapiilani Rd, Lahaina, HI 96761
The Pikake 3701 Lower Honoapiilani Rd, Lahaina, HI 96761
International Colony Club 2750 Kalapu Dr, Lahaina, HI 96761
Kaanapali Plantation Condo 150 Puukolii Rd, Lahaina, HI 96761
Safeway Lahaiana Cannery Mall 1221 HI-30, Lahaina, HI 96761
Lahaina's Last Resort Hostel 252 Lahainaluna Rd, Lahaina, HI 96761
Haleakaka Shores 2619 S Kihei Rd, Kihei, HI 96753
Kamole Beach Royal 2385 S Kihei Rd, Kihei, HI 96753
Kalama Terrance 35 Walaka St. Kihei, HI 96753
Waipuilani Condo 1002 S Kihei Rd, Kihei, HI 96753
Village by the Sea 938 S Kihei Rd, Kihei, HI 96753
Koa Resort 811 S Kihei Rd, Kihei, HI 96753
Safeway Kihei 277 Pi'Ikea Ave, Kihei, HI 96753
Makani A Kai 300 Hauoli St, Wailuku, HI 96793
Maui Mall 70 East Kaahumanu Ave, Kahului, Maui 96732
Minit Stop Store 333 Dairy Road Kahului, Maui 96732

After the convenient hotel pickup in an air-conditioned coach, sink into a comfortable seat for the journey up the mountain. Make a stop at the Kula Lodge Marketplace where you can experience the art and culinary talents of Maui and Hawaii's renowned artists and craftsmen.

After a stop at the Haleakala Park Visitor Center at about 7,000 feet (2,134m), make the final, winding, push towards the volcano’s magnificent summit. The crater overlook is just below the summit at 9,740 feet (2,969m), and there’s a good chance you’ll be one of the only people there. Gaze upon the colorful crater with its smooth, lunar cinder cones, and peer across the orange horizon to the peaks of the Big Island in the distance. After staying to watch the stars twinkle high above the volcano, descend the mountain for a 3-course meal near sea level at Café O’Lei. Meal options are both meat and vegetarian, and the evening concludes with a convenient drop-off right back at your hotel.

Sample Dinner Menu:

First Course:

Caesar salad

Kula green salad with papaya seed and lilikoi dressing (veg)

Portuguese bean soup

Second Course:

Top sirloin steak

Chicken linguine

Grilled vegetable Napoleon over quinoa with pesto and balsamic reduction (veg)

Dessert:

Fresh fruit sorbet

Warm brownie sundae

Hawaiian coffee
Itinerary
Stop At:  
Haleakalā National Park
Majestic views of the sunset from 9,740 feet elevation.
Duration: 1 hour 30 minutes
Admission Ticket Included
Stop At:  
Kula Lodge
Brief stop at the Kula Lodge Marketplace offering light drinks and snacks. Views of Kula - open country slopes, quaint & rustic.
Duration: 20 minutes
Admission Ticket Free
  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking, unless booked within 1 day of travel. In this case confirmation will be received as soon as possible, subject to availability
  • Not recommended for travelers with back problems
  • Infants must sit on laps
  • No heart problems or other serious medical conditions
  • Not recommended for pregnant travelers
  • It is recommended that you dress warmly, as temperatures on the summit range from 20 to 40 degrees F (-6 to 4.5 degrees C)
  • It is not guaranteed that the weather on the day of your tour will permit viewing of the sunset
  • Special Needs requests must be called in to the local supplier AT LEAST 1 week prior to tour date. All special needs requests are handled and accommodated on a situational basis.
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Stroller accessible
  • Service animals allowed
  • Transportation is wheelchair accessible
  • Most travelers can participate
  • This tour is not recommended for people with heart or respiratory conditions that may be exacerbated due to high altitude. People who have gone scuba diving should wait 24 hours before going on this tour.
  • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 18 travelers
  • OPERATED BY Polynesian Adventure Tours
You can cancel up to 24 hours in advance of the experience for a full refund.
  • For a full refund, you must cancel at least 24 hours before the experience’s start time.
  • If you cancel less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time, the amount you paid will not be refunded.
  • Any changes made less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time will not be accepted.
  • Cut-off times are based on the experience’s local time.
  • This experience requires good weather. If it’s canceled due to poor weather, you’ll be offered a different date or a full refund.
  • This experience requires a minimum number of travelers. If it’s canceled because the minimum isn’t met, you’ll be offered a different date/experience or a full refund.

Learn more about cancellations.

The answers provided below are based on answers previously given by the tour provider to customers’ questions.
Q:
What is the policy on face masks and attendee health during Haleakala Maui Sunset Tour?
A:The policy on face masks and attendee health is:

  • Face masks required for guides in public areas
See all safety measures taken by Haleakala Maui Sunset Tour.
Q:
What is the policy on sanitization during Haleakala Maui Sunset Tour?
A:The policies on sanitization are:

  • Hand sanitizer available to travelers and staff
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
  • Gear/equipment sanitized between use
  • Transportation vehicles regularly sanitized
See all safety measures taken by Haleakala Maui Sunset Tour.
Q:
What measures are being taken to ensure staff health & safety during Haleakala Maui Sunset Tour?
A:The policy on staff health & safety is:

  • Guides required to regularly wash hands
See all safety measures taken by Haleakala Maui Sunset Tour.

Traveler Photos

See More
See More

Reviews

4.5
star-4.5
64 Reviews
2 stars
0

Reviews by Viator travelers

Showing 1-10 of 64 reviews
star-5
Beautiful views! Great ride!
Dennis_A
, Jun 2021
Beautiful sunset view and a comfortable ride. Our driver was entertaining and very easy going. Highly recommend!
1 traveler found this review helpful
star-5
Awesome Views above the clouds
Phillip_H
, May 2021
Beautiful views as we rode to the summit above the clouds. Driver -Cama-was very knowledgeable and gave us lots of good information and took lots of fun pics for us. With the wind blowing at the summit at sunset it was very cold. I would highly recommend bringing gloves along - holding the phone or camera for any length of time was extremely cold on the hands.
star-1
Canceled
Benny
, May 2021
The day before the excursion they called to cancel the dinner portion. Then while we are waiting for pickup they called to say the complete excursion was canceled. No reason given for either cancellation. Also, two refunds do not match the total amount paid.
icon Response from Host , May 2021
We are sorry about the cancellation, thank you for your understanding. If you didn't receive the exact refund for the amount you paid please kindly contact your booking agency - TripAdvisor/Viator. Mahalo!
star-5
It’s a MUST SEE in Maui!
amberd0reen
, Sep 2019
Very organized & efficient company. Confirmed reservation & pickup location early on. The staff is unbelievably kind & knowledgeable of the history Hawai’i. The views, ocean or an ocean of clouds is something one may never experience again. Absolutely must see in Maui!!
star-4
Awesome experience
300ajays
, Jan 2019
They picked from our hotel. Tour guide Henry was great. Very informative and funny. Stopped regularly at interesting places and bathroom breaks. Sunset was worth it on the top. Good dinner to end it
1 traveler found this review helpful
star-5
Awesome trip! Our tour guide was...
CECILIA B
, Mar 2018
Awesome trip! Our tour guide was outstanding. Being a local, he knew so much information that he shared that made the drive to and from interesting. He went out of his way to make sure we ALL had a great experience. He got out of his van, up on Mt. Haleakala and took many pictures of us in order for us to have great memories. The other driver/guide just sat in her van while ours was out with us sharing the COLD and and beautiful sights. It WAS cold!! Some of our fellow travelers showed up in shorts, skirts, sleeveless shirts and and froze their buns off. PEOPLEbelieve 5e description when it tells you to bring coats and other cold weather gear. Were from Chicago and we were glad we had brought a light winter coat, gloves, and hatyou need them. The vistas at the top are incomparable. If youre going to Mauitake this tour.
star-5
Henry profidec a wonderful tour...
Nelson B
, Mar 2018
Henry profidec a wonderful tour. He had a wealth of knowledge and and a great sense of humor. The food was actually good. The sights from the top were wonderfull as well as the intermediate stops.
star-3
This is a great tour if you don't...
kia.fatemi
, Jan 2018
This is a great tour if you don't want to worry about anything and let someone else take you up. Although our tour guide was very nice and helpful and easy to get along with, after doing the tour, i couldn't justify the price point. I paid a lot of money considering the road going up is actually very smooth, the only issue is the height. If you have already rented a car which almost everyone does and heights don't bug you, i would highly recommend just driving up yourselfJust drive slowly when going down. The sunset is amazing and so are the views at the top. We spent about an hour and a half at the top and then VERY quickly made our way down for the dinner. The dinner was ok, but nothing crazy. The tour also doesn't take you to the summit Where the observatories are, but if you drive yourself, you can go up there too. But just keep in mind, its not that much higher than where this tour takes you. The cost to enter is around 25-30 i think, so its definitely worth it to just drive up yourself and we saw TONS of people who had driven up themselves.
star-5
The overall experience was...
Paul S
, Nov 2017
The overall experience was amazing--and the tour guide Henry only made it better! The tour is extremely well organized and efficient, yet we always felt the aloha spirit. What a wonderful opportunity! Roads to and from the top are very winding, so recommend folks prone to motion sickness take appropriate precautions.
1 traveler found this review helpful
star-4
Excellent tour! Being above the...
Julie R
, Jun 2017
Excellent tour! Being above the clouds was unreal. Our tour guide, Judy, was very knowledeable about the area and shared some very interesting facts. The dinner, following sunset was just OK at best. We didn't get to eat until well after 9pm and the food was just mediocre. The server we had was nice and friendly but I got the impression that he, along with the rest of the staff at the restaurant were ready to close up and go home. Still, the sights on the mountain well surpassed the meal.

Compare Similar Experiences

Current
Haleakala Maui Sunset Tour
Haleakala Maui Sunset Tour

star-4.564

8 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$176.04

star-3.5239

2 hours 30 minutes

Free Cancellation

From
$159.26

star-4.5655

10 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$207.29

star-5101

2 hours 30 minutes

Free Cancellation

From
$107.00

star-4351

N/A

Free Cancellation

From
$140.61

star-49

N/A

Free Cancellation

From
$349.00

star-5104

3 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$180.00

Explore Similar Things to Do