Recent Searches
Clear

Misty Fjords National Monument Floatplane Tour

star-4.587 Reviews
|
Ketchikan, United States
Misty Fjords National Monument Floatplane Tour

Select Date and Travelers

Number of travelers
0 Adults1 Adult2 Adults3 Adults4 Adults5 Adults6 Adults7 Adults8 Adults9 Adults10 Adults11 Adults12 Adults13 Adults14 Adults15 Adults
Free cancellation
Up to 24 hours in advance. Learn more
Loading available options...


Safety measures
icon1 hour 30 minutes  (approx.)
Pickup offered
Mobile ticket
iconOffered in: English
Good for avoiding crowds

Overview

Saved to wishlist!
Live pilot commentary
Gratuities
Food and drinks
This operator has two meet-up options available. You can either meet at the departure point below or select a location for pick-up.
4085 Tongass Ave , 4085 Tongass Ave, Ketchikan, AK 99901, USA

Guests are to meet at the flight terminal 10 minutes prior to check-in time. Guests will need to schedule their own transportation to terminal. Local hotels have complimentary shuttle services available. Please check in at front counter for further assistance.

Berth 2 , 201 Dock St, Ketchikan, AK 99901, USA
Suppliers and travelers coordinate start times within the given time periods.
Afternoon Departure
4/25/2022 - 10/22/2022
Monday - Friday:12:00 PM - 07:00 PM
Morning Departure
4/25/2022 - 10/22/2022
Monday - Friday:07:00 AM - 12:00 PM
This activity will end right where it started.Guests are to meet at the flight terminal 10 minutes prior to check-in time. Guests will need to schedule their own transportation to terminal. Local hotels have complimentary shuttle services available. Please check in at front counter for further assistance.
Meet your pilot in Ketchikan and climb aboard your 6-passenger floatplane. During the flight, your pilot shares commentary via your headset, which also offers a musical soundtrack. 
Ascend over Tongass Narrows, a body of water located between Ketchikan and Gravina Island, and fly past Ketchikan. Stare in wonder at the beauty of Tongass National Forest as you soar over Revillagigedo Island to Misty Fjords National Monument, about 40 miles (64 km) east of town.

Traveling through a low-hanging mist that gives the region its name, take in views of fjords, cliffs, and rock walls jutting straight out of the water. Waterfalls cascade down narrow granite passages, and dense forests of hemlock and spruce cover the vertical slopes.

Your pilot navigates over Rudyard Bay, giving you a fantastic vantage point of New Eddystone Rock, a remnant of early volcanic activity. Keep your eyes peeled for wildlife like wolves, bears, deer, and eagles.

Your floatplane tour ends with drop-off back in Ketchikan.

Worry-free Shore Excursion: We ensure your timely return to the Ketchikan port for this activity. In the rare event your ship has departed, we arrange for transportation to the next port-of-call. If your ship is delayed and you are unable to attend this activity, your money is refunded. See our terms and conditions for full details.
Itinerary
Pass By:  
Tongass National Forest
The Tongass National Forest is approximately 17 million acres, making it America's largest national forest.
Pass By:  
Misty Fjords National Monument
A natural mosaic of sea cliffs, steep fjords and rock walls jutting 3000 feet straight out of the ocean. The largest wilderness in Alaska's national forests.
Pass By:  
Revillagigedo Island, Orchard Lake
Various parts of Revillagigedo Island the beautiful lakes in the surrounding areas.
Stop At:  
Taquan Air Tours
Aircraft departure and return location
Duration: 30 minutes
Admission Ticket Free
  • Confirmation will be received within 48 hours of booking, subject to availability
  • Passengers must provide the following information at time of booking: all passenger names, all passenger weights, and cruise ship/hotel name.
  • Morning departure times range from 7am to 12pm; Afternoon departure times range from 12pm to 7pm. Please either include a contact number at time of booking or call the local supplier to confirm a departure time.
  • Not wheelchair accessible
  • Service animals allowed
  • Near public transportation
  • Infants must sit on laps
  • Not recommended for travelers with back problems
  • Not recommended for pregnant travelers
  • No heart problems or other serious medical conditions
  • Most travelers can participate
  • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 12 travelers
  • OPERATED BY Taquan Air
You can cancel up to 24 hours in advance of the experience for a full refund.
  • For a full refund, you must cancel at least 24 hours before the experience’s start time.
  • If you cancel less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time, the amount you paid will not be refunded.
  • Any changes made less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time will not be accepted.
  • Cut-off times are based on the experience’s local time.
  • This experience requires good weather. If it’s canceled due to poor weather, you’ll be offered a different date or a full refund.
  • This experience requires a minimum number of travelers. If it’s canceled because the minimum isn’t met, you’ll be offered a different date/experience or a full refund.

Learn more about cancellations.

The answers provided below are based on answers previously given by the tour provider to customers’ questions.
Q:
What is the policy on face masks and attendee health during Misty Fjords National Monument Floatplane Tour?
A:The policy on face masks and attendee health is:

  • Face masks required for travelers in public areas
See all safety measures taken by Misty Fjords National Monument Floatplane Tour.
Q:
What is the policy on sanitization during Misty Fjords National Monument Floatplane Tour?
A:The policies on sanitization are:

  • Hand sanitizer available to travelers and staff
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
  • Gear/equipment sanitized between use
  • Transportation vehicles regularly sanitized
See all safety measures taken by Misty Fjords National Monument Floatplane Tour.

Traveler Photos

See More
See More

Reviews

4.5
star-4.5
87 Reviews

Reviews by Viator travelers

Showing 1-10 of 87 reviews
star-5
Just like the pictures yet still unbelievable
Chris_C
, May 2022
This tour was exactly as it's described and exactly like the photos on the booking. Despite some light drizzle, they still managed to get us in the air. As our mother said it was a smoother flight than some commercial flights. The views are amazing and the pilot does a great job of dipping and turning to get everything perfectly in view from the windows. We flew during a great time of year in early May with the mountains still capped in snow and just enough melt for some waterfalls. They were easy to communicate with every step of the booking, easy to find on the pier, and just amazing people all around. Cannot beat this experience especially when we booked multiple people for hundreds under what the cruise line was offering for a flight tour. I will recommend to others going on Alaskan cruises and would book again if we ever do another one as well.
star-1
Cancelation with little notice
Dick_K
, May 2022
We cruised into port. The tour operator canceled with only two hours notice leaving not enough time to book anything else. We held off on other port oportunities to enjoy this specific excursion. This was our last port, and it was a bitter pill to swallow nearing the end of our trip.
star-2
The fjords are gorgeous...
Melinda_M
, May 2022
The fjords are gorgeous but we had a much better experience with Island Wings than Tacquan. Tacquan's narration was automated and couldn't hear a quarter of it, more turbulence and less personal staff.
1 traveler found this review helpful
star-5
Pilot was full of...
David_P
, Aug 2021
Pilot was full of information and history about the area. I asked questions about the plane we flew in and he knew quite a bit about it. I liked the fact that the waiting area was stocked full of cool t-shirts, sweatshirts and hats. I bought several items to give to family and friends.
icon Response from Host , Aug 2021
We are happy you enjoyed your trip with us!
star-2
Flight cancelled due to weather.
Terrell_T
, Aug 2021
Flight was cancelled due to weather. The fog was very thick. Only had a ceiling of about 400 feet. Also, a tour flight with a different provider crashed the day before with 6 persons onboard, there were no survivors.
1 traveler found this review helpful
star-3
Misleading Viator Tour Description.
Van_R
, Jul 2021
The flight was very nice and exciting, such as it was. But there was a big disconnect between the Viator website description and the suppliers execution. The website said there would be a 55 min stop and landing at one of the fjords. This didn't happen as there was no stop. Just an hour in the air out and back. So we didn't get our full value as advertised. A disappointment.
1 traveler found this review helpful
star-5
Amazing!
FLTrvls
, Sep 2019
Everyone was very professional and the pilot was very knowledgeable and friendly. The lake landing was fantastic. Amazing views!!
icon Response from Host , Sep 2019
Thank you for flying with us. Please share pictures if you have any.
star-5
Great Trip
Debra_S
, Sep 2019
This trip was fantastic. The company was very organized with pickup and return. Our pilot, Jake, was great! Would definitely recommend trip.
icon Response from Host , Sep 2019
Thank you for flying with us. Please send any pictures if you have some.
star-5
Wonderful experience
Josepha_Y
, Aug 2019
The best way to explore this monument, profound explanation by our pilot, who was experienced and knowledgeable. The views were amazing. We enjoyed very much.
icon Response from Host , Sep 2019
Thank you for flying with us. Please share some pictures with us!
star-3
Nice but could be much nicer
Izhak_M
, Aug 2019
The tour duration.mentioned in the adds is 2.5 hours. It was less than 2 hours. The airplane is flying straight in one direction, but the windows are small, so if there is something to see in one side only the person who seats in this side can see. They should make a circle so everyone can see.
1 traveler found this review helpful
star-5
The best thing to do in Ketchikan!
Amanda_F
, Aug 2019
We only had a few hours in these adorable town and I’m so glad we took a plane tour of the fjords. The whole staff was incredibly nice and it was a great way to see the beauty of Alaska.
icon Response from Host , Aug 2019
Thank you for flying with us.
star-5
Amazing!!
suefurey
, Jul 2019
Our pilot. Brentwood, was fabulous. He made sure we understood the safety concerns. The ride was smooth and peaceful. Misty Fjords is a fascinating place I have z new appreciation for water
icon Response from Host , Aug 2019
Thank you for flying with us.We are glad that Brentwood made this experience special for you.
star-1
Angry customer
Joshua_L
, Jul 2019
Why didn’t your company warn us of 2fatal crashes involving Taquan Air in May 2019? I believe, as a company earning commissions on tours, you have ethical responsibility to look out for your customers’ safety. Had I known about crashes, we wouldn’t have booked that excursion. Shame on you to put money over doing the right thing!
star-5
Beautiful sights!
Beverly_L
, May 2019
Our seaplane experience was wonderful....I was a little apprehensive at first but it was an awesome way to view the beautiful scenery at Misty Fjords.
icon Response from Host , May 2019
Thank you so much for flying with us. We are happy that your experience was great!
star-5
Absolute must do
Mat H
, May 2019
Best way to see the beauty of this region is to de a flight with a seaplane.Friendly staff and pilot showed us the fjords not by flying over but by flying between these mountains. Could be making pictures from start to finish.
icon Response from Host , Jun 2019
Thank you for visiting Taquan Air.
star-4
We enjoyed the float plane ride and...
JOANNE F
, Jul 2017
We enjoyed the float plane ride and knowledge of the pilot but the weather did not permit us to take the typical route thus the experience was somewhat lacking. We did land on the water but other than stand on the pontoon it was not that thrilling. The scenery was beautiful though more misty than the fjord implies.
star-5
We were unable to complete our tour...
Ludy G
, Jun 2017
We were unable to complete our tour because of weather conditions. Ketchikan has the highest rainfall for the entire state of Alaska which I was not aware of when I booked but I will say that this is a 'class act' outfit. They were more concerned about our safety than they were about their money, and because the winds got pretty strong as well as the rain, they decided it was not safe to fly. We were VERY disappointed, but they did everything within their power to try to book us on a later excursion that would still allow us to get back to our ship in time for departure, but the rain and winds just didn't cooperate. Our money was fully refunded and put back on our credit care within a couple of days. I would DEFINITELY book an excursion with TAQUAN AIR for the Misty Fjords National Monument Floatplane Tours again when in Alaska. This excursion's price was very affordable, and has the same guarantee as the excursions that are booked from the cruise line at about 1/2 the cost. They guarantee if it is their fault that you don't get back to your cruise on time and it's their fault, they get you to the next port. Also, guarantee you will fly or your money is refunded if it's no fault of your own.
star-5
the trip was awesome, scenery was...
Michael G
, Sep 2016
the trip was awesome, scenery was spectacular. landing the plane on one of the fresh water lakes was a highlight. we always felt safe and had full confidence in our great pilot.
star-5
We loved the flight, the scenery...
Keith H
, Sep 2016
We loved the flight, the scenery, and the pilot. This was a highlight of our Alaska Cruise. It is expensive, but awesome!
star-5
Beautiful trip, great pilot. Scenery...
Julio A
, Sep 2016
Beautiful trip, great pilot. Scenery was spectacular.

Compare Similar Experiences

Current
Misty Fjords National Monument Floatplane Tour
Misty Fjords National Monument Floatplane Tour

star-4.585

1 hour 30 minutes

Free Cancellation

From
$325.00

star-584

2 hours 30 minutes

Free Cancellation

From
$389.00

star-564

1 hour

Free Cancellation

From
$325.00

star-5132

3 hours 30 minutes

Free Cancellation

From
$125.00

star-5273

N/A

Free Cancellation

From
$375.00

star-515

4 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$138.00

star-4.596

3 hours 30 minutes

Free Cancellation

From
$99.36

star-43

4 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$2,000.00

Explore Similar Things to Do