Recent Searches
Clear

Chena Hot Springs Tour

|
Badge of Excellence
|
Fairbanks, United States
Chena Hot Springs Tour
Likely to Sell OutLikely to Sell Out

Select Date and Travelers

Number of travelers
0 Adults1 Adult2 Adults3 Adults4 Adults5 Adults6 Adults7 Adults8 Adults0 Children1 Child2 Children3 Children4 Children5 Children6 Children7 Children8 Children
Free cancellation
Up to 24 hours in advance. Learn more
Loading available options...


Safety measures
icon8 hours  (approx.)
Pickup from select hotels
Mobile ticket
iconOffered in: English
Good for avoiding crowds

Operators have paid Viator more to have their experiences featured here

Overview

Discover Alaska’s natural hot springs and amazing ice sculptures on a full-day tour to Chena Hot Springs from Fairbanks. Enjoy a scenic 60-mile (95-km) drive from your Fairbanks hotel to Chena Hot Springs, where you can soak in the large outdoor pool of this legendary resort. You can also take a tour that showcases how Chena Hot Springs makes use of geothermal energy to power the resort, and check out the sculptures in the Aurora Ice Museum.
  • Full-day tour to Chena Hot Springs from Fairbanks
  • Soak in natural hot springs with rejuvenating mineral waters
  • Enjoy views of the forested mountains that surround the hot springs
  • Take a tour of the geothermal energy innovations on the grounds
  • Be amazed by the artwork of the Aurora Ice Museum
Saved to wishlist!
Driver/guide
Hotel drop-off
Hotel pick-up
Admission to the Ice museum and Hot Springs
Gratuities
Food and drinks (restaurant and cafe/snack bar is available at the location.
Cocktail at the Ice museum. Can be purchased at the Resort.

Hmm...we can’t seem to find this place. Please check the spelling, or choose another location.

9:30 AM

Hotel pickups commence approximately 30 - 60 minutes prior to this time, exact pickup time will be advised on reconfirmation.

Pick up occurs between 8:45 a.m. and 9:30 a.m. We will contact you the day before your tour with your exact pickup time. We can only pick up from addresses within the Fairbanks or North Pole city limits. We do not pick up from the airport. If you are staying outside the city limits, we can pick you up at Walmart or another hotel location. Please call our office to discuss what options are available.
  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
  • Please bring bathing suits, shower slipper, bath towels, at least 2 quarter for each locker and picture id's for the ice museum.
  • Children must be accompanied by an adult. Please no children under 5.
  • Children under 18 and pregnant guests aren't allowed in the outside pool of the Hot Springs. There is an inside area for everyone to use.
  • Cancellation for a full refund is possible if the minimum capacity is not reached or due to dangerous road conditions.
  • Not wheelchair accessible
  • Stroller accessible
  • Our vans are not wheelchair accessible. However, we have enough room for a foldable one and the Hot Springs are wheelchair accessible. Please contact us before booking.
  • Most travelers can participate
  • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 14 travelers
  • OPERATED BY Alaska Wildlife Guide LLC
You can cancel up to 24 hours in advance of the experience for a full refund.
  • For a full refund, you must cancel at least 24 hours before the experience’s start time.
  • If you cancel less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time, the amount you paid will not be refunded.
  • Any changes made less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time will not be accepted.
  • Cut-off times are based on the experience’s local time.
  • This experience requires a minimum number of travelers. If it’s canceled because the minimum isn’t met, you’ll be offered a different date/experience or a full refund.

Learn more about cancellations.

The answers provided below are based on answers previously given by the tour provider to customers’ questions.
Q:
What is the policy on face masks and attendee health during Chena Hot Springs Tour?
A:The policy on face masks and attendee health is:

  • Face masks provided for travelers
See all safety measures taken by Chena Hot Springs Tour.
Q:
What is the policy on sanitization during Chena Hot Springs Tour?
A:The policies on sanitization are:

  • Hand sanitizer available to travelers and staff
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
  • Gear/equipment sanitized between use
  • Transportation vehicles regularly sanitized
See all safety measures taken by Chena Hot Springs Tour.

Traveler Photos

See More
See More

Traveler Tips


  • "Chena Hot Springs is a must with its pool facility, ice museum, horse back riding, tour of sled dogs kennel, restaurant and tour of the greenhouse and power plant facility that runs the hot springs." See review

Reviews by Viator travelers.  We perform checks on reviews

Reviews

5.0
star-5
142 Reviews
1 star
0

Reviews by Viator travelers

We perform checks on reviews

Showing 1-10 of 142 reviews
star-4
Chena Hot Springs, Fairbanks.
Aparna_R
, Aug 2022
Suzi was cheerful, and warm which made it easy to ask her questions. She was gracious about picking us up from the designated location. We thoroughly enjoyed spending time in the Hot Springs and the Ice Sculpture Museum. The restaurant in the resort was quite good, but I would recommend that people that require vegetarian food options, consider carrying their food with them.
star-5
Fountain of Youth
Frances_C
, Aug 2022
Cole was a great tour guide. He was very knowledgeable. It was a great trip! The hot springs was a great treat. The geo trip was very interesting.
star-5
Have a hot spring soak
MARIA_M
, Jul 2022
The water at the hot springs are about 99-107 degrees, wonderfully warm and great for your aching body. Visit to the ice museum and the geothermal plant were equally interesting as was the hydroponic farm. Our guide was informative and considerate and made this trip very memorable for all of us.
star-5
Excellent tour guide and very relaxing!
Virginia_H
, Jul 2022
Leticia made us feel like family! It was a great small group tour. A have-it-our-way experience very easy going! It was even better than expected. Communication was excellent, she really tailored it to our individual needs!
star-2
Bad experience
Deborah_C
, Jul 2022
We were so looking forward to this tour , but we’re sadly disappointed. Our tour guide had no knowledge of anything and rushed us. We paid $175 each and had the understanding per the website that it would last til 5:30, but we’re dropped off at our hotel at 4. I don’t think that was fair .
icon Response from Host , Jul 2022
We are sorry that you had such a bad experience on your tour with us. We strive to provide all of our guests on tours with us an excellent experience. The tour guide that you had was one of our newer tour guides and misunderstood the itinerary for this tour. We are sorry that your tour got cut shorter than you were anticipating. We have spoken with all of our tour guides in hopes that this does not happen in the future and will be training our newer tour guides better. Again we are sorry that you had a bad experience on this tour with us. If you would like to speak further in regards to your experience, please feel free to reach out to our office during normal business hours and speak with one of our Managers on staff.
star-5
Highly recommend this tour
Cheryl_L
, Jul 2022
I took this tour in April, during what's called the "shoulder season" in Alaska (meaning that the time is between the winter and summer peak tourist seasons). Ray, our tour guide, was amazing. She gave us an overview of the city of Fairbanks while we drove through on our way to Chena Hot Springs. The resort wasn't crowded because of the time of year, and we had ample time to explore and soak in the hot springs, along with enjoying a nice lunch at the restaurant. I tried the wild salmon, which was excellent. The tours of the ice museum, greenhouse, and geothermal plant were interesting and informative. For people who cannot drink alcoholic beverages: The free drink served in the ice glass that's included with the ice museum tour is alcoholic. Only one type of drink is available, which was the resort owner's late wife's favorite beverage. If you can't drink the beverage, ask if you can get an empty ice glass. The non-drinkers during my tour were accommodated.
star-5
Fun day at Chena Hot Springs
Judy_M
, May 2022
The Ice Museum was beautiful and Robert was wonderful at explaining the sculptures and logistics of carving the various displays. The Appletini was so good. Food at the restaurant was delicious and staff working so hard. Hot Springs finished up our day and so relaxing.
star-5
Magical
Thomas_C
, Apr 2022
We had such a magical day at Chena Hot Springs. The ice museum was amazing and the springs were magical.
star-5
We had a lot of fun, and good memories.
Natalya_F
, Sep 2021
Our tour guide Lexi was great. She gave us a lot of information about Chene Hot Spring. Was with us all the time. She is very outgoing, friendly and cheerful. It was a pleasure to spend our time with her during the tour. The place itself is very beautiful, pleasant and conducive to relaxation. The restaurant has very tasty food and drinks and the staff are very nice and welcoming. We had a lot of fun and good memories.
icon Response from Host , Sep 2021
Hello Thank you for this wonderful review. We are very happy you enjoyed your tour Natalya and got to make some good Alaskan memories. We hope you enjoy the rest of your trip and wish you well on your future adventures. Your AWG Team
star-5
Clark was my tour guide...
Alexandria_C
, Aug 2021
Clark was my tour guide and he was great! He adjusted to my likes and made the journey and experience a very pleasant one.
1 traveler found this review helpful
star-5
A great spa experience!
Ronald_T
, Aug 2021
The hot springs were wonderful. Our guide also gave us a great history lesson for Alaska, Fairbanks, and the hot springs. His name was Clark.
star-5
Really hot and really cold
Yina_M
, Jul 2021
The hot springs were really hot, loved it. The ATV was a great experience and the ice museum was amazing. Not to mention the restaurant probably the best. I sure would love to plan to vivit during winter to see the aurora
star-5
Great trip and best with Alaska tours and travel.
satish_a
, Jul 2021
Something to see around Fairbanks. We like our trip. Trip was more fun and enjoyable with Alaska tours and travel specially with tour guide/driver he kept all of us engaged, informed and entertained. It add that extra Alaskan favor to the trip. Thumbs up for Clark for his soft corner on TEXAS :)
star-5
Fire & Ice & fun!
Lily_R
, Jul 2021
our guide/driver Clark was amazing - knowledgeable & courteous. i really enjoyed this tour - from an appletini in the ice museum to a hot soak in the hot springs - horses, sled dogs, hiking - i had a full day of activities - i only wished i had made an appointment for a massage beforehand as they were all booked up when i arrived - but fantastic day!
star-5
Not to be missed, expecially on a grey, sprinkly day.
FayC
, Jul 2021
My cousin and I loved everything about this tour starting with our guide Dave. He picked us up promptly at our hotel and passed on informative thoughts, while also entertaining us, during our drive to and from the hot spring. Once we were there, he made sure to show us around the grounds and to the Ice Museum. If at all possible, don't miss having a special cocktail mixed in your own ice goblet! Be sure to bring your i.d. if you do plan on purchasing one. We had a tasty and filling lunch at the resort between the museum and going into the hot spring. The hot spring pool is lined with large rocks and has a wonderful fine pebble bottom. It was fantastic with wonderful warm and hotter spots, a water jet and sprinkler. The changing room was clean and tidy. Be sure to bring 2 quarters for the locker storage. We went on several tours around Fairbanks and enjoyed them all, however this is one we would definitely do again!
star-3
Bravo to Viator but Chena needs a bit of work
Gary_D
, Jul 2021
The transportation, the scheduling, communications, and especially the driver (Clark) were the total highlights of this tour. The destination facility (Chena) is in desparate need of repair and maintenance. Ice museum was closed for repair. Almost all tours were cancelled. Covid and nearby forest fire can share some responsibility.
star-3
Great springs, nothing else to do.
Endri_S
, Jun 2021
The hot springs was great, the tour guide/driver also was very good. They didn’t have the ice museum functioning. The restaurant was average.
star-5
Tour experience
Venkatesh_K
, Jun 2021
Our Tour guide Clark was amazing and made the tour exciting. Added the pipeline stop and refunded the ice museum tickets, since they closed due to a mechanical issue. Hot springs in Alaska was a great experience.
star-5
Relaxing way to enjoy your time in the Fairbanks area !
Christopher_H
, Jun 2021
Clark made the trip to Chena Hot Springs Tour a fun adventure. Chena Hot Springs is a must with its pool facility, ice museum, horse back riding, tour of sled dogs kennel, restaurant and tour of the greenhouse and power plant facility that runs the hot springs. Time will go by very fast.
icon Response from Host , Jun 2021
Hi there, thank you so much for your awesome review and we are so glad that you enjoyed your trip with Clark to the Hotsprings.
1 traveler found this review helpful
star-5
This was a cool trip. Enjoyed the hot...
Luis R
, May 2018
This was a cool trip. Enjoyed the hot springs,probably it will be better on winter. The Ice Museum was really nice, first time in a place like that, so I enjoyed very much.
1 traveler found this review helpful

Why you are seeing these recommendations

Compare Similar Experiences

Current
Chena Hot Springs Tour
Likely to Sell Out
Chena Hot Springs Tour

star-5142

8 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$175.00

star-4.5356

10 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$195.00

star-470

7 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$206.00

star-438

11 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$226.00

star-3.514

4 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$150.00

star-512

8 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$245.00

star-3.55

7 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$238.00

star-5123

16 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$205.00

star-540

1 hour 30 minutes

Free Cancellation

From
$45.00
Why you are seeing these recommendations

Explore Similar Things to Do

Why you are seeing these recommendations