Recent Searches
Clear

Original Arctic Circle Drive from Fairbanks

|
Fairbanks, United States
Original Arctic Circle Drive from Fairbanks

Select Date and Travelers

Number of travelers
0 Adults1 Adult2 Adults3 Adults4 Adults5 Adults6 Adults
Non-refundable
You will not receive a refund if you cancel. Learn more
Loading available options...


Safety measures
icon16 hours  (Approx.)
Mobile ticket
iconOffered in: English
Good for avoiding crowds

Overview

Travel the famous Dalton Highway on this 16-hour Arctic Circle drive. Visit the Yukon River, stop by the Arctic Circle Trading Post, and get views of the tundra landscape. Learn about life in rural Alaska through your guide's commentary; departure from a meeting point in Fairbanks.
  • Fully narrated tour by a local, professional guide
  • Small-groups make for a more intimate experience
  • Soak in the views over the arctic tundra and Yukon River
  • Depart from a convenient meeting point in Fairbanks
Saved to wishlist!
All taxes, fees and handling charges
Driver/guide
Live commentary on board
Local guide
Professional guide
The listed price does not include a parking fee, payable at the time of tour check-in.
Food and drinks
Gratuities
Hotel pickup and drop-off

Departure Point

3820 University Ave S, Fairbanks, AK 99709, USA

This is located on the East Ramp Airport, the small plane side of the airport. All guests need to call and reconfirm their tour departure/check in time 24 - 48 hours prior to departure.

Departure Time

6:30 AM

Return Details

Returns to original departure point
  • Confirmation will be received within 48 hours of booking, subject to availability
  • Not wheelchair accessible
  • Collapsible wheelchairs with removable wheels can be accommodated providing the passenger is accompanied by someone who can assist them board and disembark
  • Operates in all weather conditions, please dress appropriately
  • Subject to favorable weather conditions. If canceled due to poor weather, you will be given the option of an alternative date or full refund
  • No heart problems or other serious medical conditions
  • Most travelers can participate
  • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 26 travelers
  • OPERATED BY Northern Alaska Tour Company
This experience is non-refundable and cannot be changed for any reason. If you cancel or ask for an amendment, the amount you paid will not be refunded.
  • This experience requires good weather. If it’s canceled due to poor weather, you’ll be offered a different date or a full refund.

Learn more about cancellations.

The answers provided below are based on answers previously given by the tour provider to customers’ questions.
Q:
What is the policy on face masks and attendee health during Original Arctic Circle Drive from Fairbanks?
A:The policy on face masks and attendee health is:

  • Face masks provided for travelers
See all safety measures taken by Original Arctic Circle Drive from Fairbanks.
Q:
What is the policy on sanitization during Original Arctic Circle Drive from Fairbanks?
A:The policies on sanitization are:

  • Hand sanitizer available to travelers and staff
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
  • Gear/equipment sanitized between use
  • Transportation vehicles regularly sanitized
See all safety measures taken by Original Arctic Circle Drive from Fairbanks.
Q:
What measures are being taken to ensure staff health & safety during Original Arctic Circle Drive from Fairbanks?
A:The policy on staff health & safety is:

  • Guides required to regularly wash hands
See all safety measures taken by Original Arctic Circle Drive from Fairbanks.

Traveler Photos

See More
See More

Traveler Tips


  • "It is a long day so be prepared but well worth it." See review
  • "It certainly was an experience but driving so slow over gravel,dirt and uneven roads made for a very jerky trip would have preferred to do half stay the night then go right to the border and fly back." See review

Reviews

5.0
star-5
103 Reviews
2 stars
0

Reviews by Viator travelers

Showing 1-10 of 103 reviews
star-3
Honest evaluation
Steve_M
, Sep 2021
It was a destination trip and now I can say I’ve been there. The tour guide, Wes, was great, very entertaining and knowledgeable . However, the group mix was awful!!!! It was us (my wife and I), one other couple and the rest were all East Indian friends who spoke their own language, were constantly talking (while we tried desperately to hear our guide and the videos) plus they had several very young LOUD kids. We were not allowed to change seats. It made for a long 17 hours. Would I do it again? Probably. Did I thoroughly enjoy it? No. (I felt Wes did all he could but the situation was out of his control and he was in fact put in a difficult situation with no real solution.) Who ever organized this group mix needs to work on their organizational skills.
icon Response from Host , Sep 2021
Thank you Steve_M for choosing Northern Alaska Tour Company to be a part of your Alaska Adventure. We appreciate your feedback however, we are not sure what we could do differently if as you say Wes did all he could. Let us know. Seat Rotation: At this time we have ceased seat rotation due to Covid-19 allowing guests to keep their same seats versus doing a deep clean each time to move seats. We are not sure how long this will continue - but as soon as it is recommended that we can we will most likely put seat rotation back into the tour experience. Thank you again for joining us and best wishes for a great winter.
1 traveler found this review helpful
star-5
Long, but worth it
Alyssa_M
, Sep 2021
Long, but worth it. Our tour guide was very interesting and knowledgeable, and he made the long day really fun.
icon Response from Host , Sep 2021
Thank you Alyssa_M for making Northern Alaska Tour Company a part of your Alaska Adventure. Best wishes for a great winter!
star-5
Gotta do this one!
ChrisL
, Sep 2021
Great experience with Mel! Her knowledge and personal stories made the trip fly by. Very knowledgeable and a fun personality!! Thanks!!!
icon Response from Host , Sep 2021
So glad you enjoyed your time with Mel. Thank you for the recommendation and review.
star-4
Good day
Kelly_R
, Sep 2021
It was a very long day. We had to bring our own food which under the circumstances understandable. A lot of good information
icon Response from Host , Sep 2021
Thank you Kelly_R for joining us. Yes, food is not included on our tours and usually we would make a stop at the Yukon River Camp for food - but they have yet been able to open their kitchen due to Covid-19 and hiring challenges. So while we always say guests can bring their own food now it is really important as we will make a quick stop at a grocery store on the way out of town but there is no other location, at this time, to purchase food once we leave Fairbanks. Thank you again for joining us.
star-4
Attic Circle trip
Dexter_F
, Sep 2021
Rob the guide was very good! Almost no wildlife, some very rough road. Nice 24 passenger bus. Bring your own food and drink. 16 hour trip.
star-5
Arctic Circle Heaven
Rohan_G
, Aug 2021
This is a must do tour for anyone visiting Alaska. Great tour guide, ROB who is very knowledgable and likes his job a lot which makes it fun listening to him. You learn a lot about the history of Alaska and about its geography through the tour. I know it is a long 16 hour tour, but the time flies by with everything that is planned for the tour.
star-5
Arctic circle trip
Sirmattee_P
, Aug 2021
The Alaska pipeline,Yukon river and the arctic circle Our guide Ron was very knowledgeable about Alaska and made sure we had frequent stops to accommodate. He made our trip very exciting!! Would recommend
star-5
Great!!
Ryan_M
, Aug 2021
Matt was an excellent tour guide, full of info . He presented it thru the day , answering and acknowledging our questions when he could, but admitted when he wasn’t sure. We found the movies informational, and the fact that they were spread out during the day was entertaining. We loved digging down to permafrost, as well as our crossing the artic circle ceremony. The mud pie was delicious!!
star-5
I have the Arctic Circle Certificate
Susan_B
, Aug 2021
Our guide, Rob, was fantastic! I learned so much about the area, and Alaska in general. The time went quickly with the various stops of interest. Rob made the crossing really special...but you'll have to do the tour to find out. Thank, Rob!
icon Response from Host , Aug 2021
Congratulations and welcome to the 2 % club! (fewer than 2 % of Alaska's summer visitors cross the Arctic Circle) Thank you for choosing us! Kathy
star-5
Great
John_P
, Aug 2021
We enjoyed the entire trip. Rob was our driver and tour guide. He did a fantastic job of both. He showed us lots of extras which made the tour much better. The only draw back was that we were in a van along with 5 others and we set in the back for the entire trip.
icon Response from Host , Aug 2021
Thank you John_P for joining Rob on your Original Arctic Circle Drive Adventure. So glad you enjoyed your trip with Rob. Yes, for those reading, at this time we are not practicing seat rotation - at this time there is no set time when we will begin resuming that in the future. But is is our intent to do so again. Thank you again John_P and best wishes for a great Fall.
1 traveler found this review helpful

Compare Similar Experiences

Current
Original Arctic Circle Drive from Fairbanks
Original Arctic Circle Drive from Fairbanks

star-5103

16 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$185.00

star-4.532

16 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$249.00

star-519

16 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$199.00

star-589

8 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$145.00

star-4.5296

3 hours 40 minutes

Free Cancellation

From
$225.00

star-4.561

1 hour 50 minutes

Free Cancellation

From
$200.00

star-31

6 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$145.00

star-4.513

12 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$459.00

star-539

12 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$179.00

Explore Similar Things to Do