Recent Searches

Aurora Quest from Denali

star-4.516 Reviews
Badge of Excellence
Alaska, United States
Aurora Quest from Denali

Select Date and Travelers

Number of travelers
1 Adult2 Adults3 Adults4 Adults5 Adults6 Adults7 Adults8 Adults9 Adults10 Adults11 Adults12 Adults13 Adults14 Adults0 Children1 Child2 Children3 Children4 Children5 Children6 Children7 Children8 Children9 Children10 Children11 Children12 Children13 Children14 Children
Free cancellation
Up to 24 hours in advance. Learn more
Loading available options...

Safety measures
icon3 hours  (Approx.)
Pickup from select hotels
Mobile ticket
iconOffered in: English
Good for avoiding crowds


While Alaska is among the top places in the world to catch the northern lights, the elusive natural phenomenon can be difficult to spot on your own. Luckily, with a local tour guide to take you to the best spots in the Denali area, you can greatly increase your chances of witnessing the light show. Plus, along the way, your guide breaks down the mysterious science behind the northern lights.
  • Join a guided hunt for the northern lights
  • Enjoy warm drinks while learning about the region from your guide
  • Hotel pickup and drop-off simplify the late-night trip
  • A guide provides tips for photographing the lights
Saved to wishlist!
Live commentary on board
Local guide
Hotel pickup and drop-off (selected hotels only)
Coffee and/or Tea

Departure Point

Traveler pickup is offered

Departure Time

11:00 PM
  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Children must be accompanied by an adult
  • Operates in all weather conditions, please dress appropriately
  • Stroller accessible
  • Service animals allowed
  • Near public transportation
  • Most travelers can participate
  • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 14 travelers
  • OPERATED BY Stampede Excursions
You can cancel up to 24 hours in advance of the experience for a full refund.
  • For a full refund, you must cancel at least 24 hours before the experience’s start time.
  • If you cancel less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time, the amount you paid will not be refunded.
  • Any changes made less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time will not be accepted.
  • Cut-off times are based on the experience’s local time.
  • This experience requires good weather. If it’s canceled due to poor weather, you’ll be offered a different date or a full refund.
  • This experience requires a minimum number of travelers. If it’s canceled because the minimum isn’t met, you’ll be offered a different date/experience or a full refund.

Learn more about cancellations.

The answers provided below are based on answers previously given by the tour provider to customers’ questions.
What is the policy on sanitization during Aurora Quest from Denali?
A:The policies on sanitization are:

  • Hand sanitizer available to travelers and staff
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
  • Gear/equipment sanitized between use
  • Transportation vehicles regularly sanitized
See all safety measures taken by Aurora Quest from Denali.
What is the social distancing policy during Aurora Quest from Denali?
A:The policy on social distancing is:

  • Contactless payments for gratuities and add-ons
See all safety measures taken by Aurora Quest from Denali.
What measures are being taken to ensure staff health & safety during Aurora Quest from Denali?
A:The policies on staff health & safety are:

  • Guides required to regularly wash hands
  • Regular temperature checks for staff
See all safety measures taken by Aurora Quest from Denali.


16 Reviews
1 star

Reviews by Viator travelers

Showing 1-7 of 16 reviews
Waste of time and money.
, Sep 2021
Tour company should have cancelled because the chances of seeing lights with the cloud cover was slim to none. By the time we realized we would not see them, it was too late for us to cancel and get a refund. So basically we paid to drive around with strangers in the middle of the night.
1 traveler found this review helpful
Successful search for Aurora
, Sep 2021
Was so pleased our quest for Aurora was successful! Thanks much to our guide/driver for providing us with info about the Aurora, as well as how best we could capture these sights. And that he took us to different areas so we could gain more exposure and just enjoy and appreciate this natural wonder. Thanks for getting us there and back safely!
, Sep 2021
We had an awesome time! Our driver was knowledgeable,very pleasant, and found us an area to safely view the Northern Lights. Without his experience,I would never have seen it on my own
Wonderful Experience in Denali Auraro Tour
, Sep 2021
Our tour guide Jordan was a brilliant delightful guy. He always cheered us up in this slight chilly night. Jordan led us to three different places in Healy and all three places we got glimpses of the Auraro Borealis. Especially in the second place, the sky was clear and most stars were visible. My friend and I took some gorgeous photos there, both with iPhone and with Camera. Well, I still recommend to take a tripod with you no matter you go with camera or with phone. Hand glitches do harm the shot. In the 2nd and 3rd place, Jordan also took a group shot and helped us get a portrait with the northern lights for each of us!!!! It’s amazing!!!!! Each tool with great outcome👍 Jordan was also so considerate and provided us with hot drinks. Not every visitor was well prepared and used to the cold autumn midnight of Alaska :-p The most impressive part occurred on our way back. At the second hotel stop, Jordan found 2 passenger visitors attempting to walk back a long way to some RV park... It was nearly 2 o’clock and Jordan just invited them in with us and dropped them off to their place. He’s such a warm-hearted guilde and we like him a lot!!!!!!
Northern Lights are Fickle
, Aug 2021
We really liked our guide, Brad, but unfortunately we did not see one glimmer of northern lights. Be prepared for a late night. Our guide drove to spots that would looked like they should be optimal but cloud coverage prevented us from seeing anything. It is never guaranteed, but we were still disappointed. They offered to let us come again for free but it didn’t work with our schedule. The hot chocolate/ coffee was nice but once again you are not guaranteed to see the lights
icon Response from Host , Sep 2021
Hi Connor, thank you for sharing your experience and thoughts. Our team works hard with various data sources from the University of Alaska Fairbanks, National Weather Service, Space Weather Prediction Center, and more to identify the best routes possible to increase chances of viewing. I apologize the conditions were not favorable for your tour departure. When your tour went out we were hopeful we would be able to find places to try and catch a view. We have actually had some of the best shows in somewhat cloudy conditions. We do have tours on clear nights that still don't see the likes, Mother Nature has her own schedule. It's great to hear you liked your local guide. We also are very proud of our standby policy to allow guests who did not see the lights to join a standby list for the next tour departure at no additional charge. We hope to see you again in the future and hope for better luck! Safe travels!
Hit or Miss on Seeing the Lights
, Aug 2021
Our tour guide, Brad, was excellent and very knowledgeable. He tried very hard to see the Northern Lights, but we didn't see any. With the rain and bad weather, we feel this tour should have been postponed to another day or another time of night. Flying in from the East Coast, getting up really early in the morning would not be an issue. If going out at 3 a.m. is better, that would be fine. We like that there is an option to go on another night to try to see the lights again.
2 travelers found this review helpful
Great excursion
Mike H
, Oct 2019
this was a really nice place to see the northern lights when they're out, full panorama view with no lights around. Nate was very helpful with our cameras to get the most out of the experience. This was a great group that treated us very well, would definitely recommend them for your Aurora quest.
1 traveler found this review helpful

Compare Similar Experiences

Aurora Quest from Denali
Aurora Quest from Denali


3 hours

Free Cancellation



4 hours

Free Cancellation



3 hours

Free Cancellation



2 hours 30 minutes

Free Cancellation



3 hours

Free Cancellation



3 hours 30 minutes

Free Cancellation



4 hours

Free Cancellation



3 hours

Free Cancellation


Explore Similar Things to Do