Recent Searches
Clear

Manta Ray Night Snorkel in Kona

|
Badge of Excellence
|
Kailua-Kona, United States
Manta Ray Night Snorkel in Kona
Likely to Sell OutLikely to Sell Out

Select Date and Travelers

Number of travelers
0 Adults1 Adult2 Adults3 Adults4 Adults5 Adults6 Adults7 Adults8 Adults9 Adults10 Adults11 Adults12 Adults13 Adults14 Adults15 Adults0 Seniors1 Senior2 Seniors3 Seniors4 Seniors5 Seniors6 Seniors7 Seniors8 Seniors9 Seniors10 Seniors11 Seniors12 Seniors13 Seniors14 Seniors15 Seniors0 Youths1 Youth2 Youths3 Youths4 Youths5 Youths6 Youths7 Youths8 Youths9 Youths10 Youths11 Youths12 Youths13 Youths14 Youths15 Youths
Free cancellation
Up to 24 hours in advance. Learn more
Loading available options...


Safety measures
icon3 hours  (approx.)
Mobile ticket
Good for avoiding crowds

Overview

Swim alongside manta rays and under the moonlight on this night snorkel tour in Kona. A boat with an eco-friendly engine takes you out to the snorkeling location, where you can descend into the water on a step ladder or choose to stay dry on on board. Extra amenities such as a warm shower, snacks, and beverages make this tour as comfortable as it is memorable.
  • Kona night snorkel with manta rays
  • Choose to snorkel with included gear or stay dry on board
  • Get out on the water in a comfortable, eco-friendly boat
  • Warm shower included for your comfort
  • Snacks and beverages included
Saved to wishlist!
Light snack, juice and water, plus a nice warm fresh water shower. Snorkel gear, fins, mask, flotation devices and wet suits are also included. Special note: when booking your reservation please indicate any additional special needs you my require. We are always wanting to be as accommodating as possible as to make your trip as special and memorable as possible. Aloha
Gratuities
Manta Adventures Inc. , 74-429 Kealakehe Parkway Slip G-2, Kailua-Kona, HI 96740, USA

Manta Adventures slip number is G-2 and in the far the south side corner of the harbor. Please park in the available ample parking lot and make your way to your adventure. If you are running late for some unforeseen reason please call (808) 345-254 Mahalo

4:45 PM
This activity will end right where it started.
  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
  • Children must be accompanied by an adult.
  • Subject to favorable weather conditions. If canceled due to poor weather, you will be given the option of an alternative date or full refund.
  • All participants are required to fill out and sign an in water snorkel waiver.
  • Not wheelchair accessible
  • Not recommended for travelers with back problems
  • Not recommended for pregnant travelers
  • No heart problems or other serious medical conditions
  • Most travelers can participate
  • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 24 travelers
  • OPERATED BY Manta Adventures Inc
You can cancel up to 24 hours in advance of the experience for a full refund.
  • For a full refund, you must cancel at least 24 hours before the experience’s start time.
  • If you cancel less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time, the amount you paid will not be refunded.
  • Any changes made less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time will not be accepted.
  • Cut-off times are based on the experience’s local time.
  • This experience requires good weather. If it’s canceled due to poor weather, you’ll be offered a different date or a full refund.
  • This experience requires a minimum number of travelers. If it’s canceled because the minimum isn’t met, you’ll be offered a different date/experience or a full refund.

Learn more about cancellations.

The answers provided below are based on answers previously given by the tour provider to customers’ questions.
Q:
What is the policy on face masks and attendee health during Manta Ray Night Snorkel in Kona?
A:The policies on face masks and attendee health are:

  • Face masks required for travelers in public areas
  • Face masks required for guides in public areas
See all safety measures taken by Manta Ray Night Snorkel in Kona.
Q:
What is the policy on sanitization during Manta Ray Night Snorkel in Kona?
A:The policies on sanitization are:

  • Hand sanitizer available to travelers and staff
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
  • Gear/equipment sanitized between use
See all safety measures taken by Manta Ray Night Snorkel in Kona.
Q:
What is the social distancing policy during Manta Ray Night Snorkel in Kona?
A:The policies on social distancing are:

  • Social distancing enforced throughout experience
  • Contactless payments for gratuities and add-ons
See all safety measures taken by Manta Ray Night Snorkel in Kona.
Q:
What measures are being taken to ensure staff health & safety during Manta Ray Night Snorkel in Kona?
A:The policies on staff health & safety are:

  • Guides required to regularly wash hands
  • Regular temperature checks for staff
  • Paid stay-at-home policy for staff with symptoms
See all safety measures taken by Manta Ray Night Snorkel in Kona.

Traveler Photos

See More
See More

Traveler Tips


  • "They get out to the spot early (to get the best spot), so you will be hanging out on a rocking boat for a little while- take your motion sickness pill if you are prone to it." See review
  • "This trip is a must if you get to the Big Island!" See review

Reviews by Viator travelers.  We perform checks on reviews

Reviews

5.0
star-5
573 Reviews

Reviews by Viator travelers

We perform checks on reviews

Showing 1-10 of 573 reviews
star-5
Awesome trip
Deirdre_T
, May 2022
The crew was awesome we saw a bunch of manta rays they had the right equipment for the trip the boat was in good condition i would recommend this trip to anyone
icon Response from Host , Aug 2022
Aloha, Thank you for choosing Manta Adventures and taking the time to review your trip. We're so happy you enjoyed the experience and had a good show. We hope to see you again, please don't hesitate to call for your next adventure in Kona. Mahalo, Manta Adventures Team
1 traveler found this review helpful
star-1
Awful from start to finish
Candice_R
, Apr 2022
One of the most awful experiences of my life. Packed onto a small boat with too many people, a captain who sucked any amount of joy out of the room, very very choppy water (apparently a calm night comparatively), and very cold water. The manta were beautiful but the entries experience was so miserable I’d rather see them in an aquarium.
icon Response from Host , Apr 2022
HI are sure you have the correct Company as we have one of the biggest vessels in the fleet and only load to 2/3 capacity to ensure a comfortable trip for all. We have some of the warmest waters of all the Islands with an average yearly temp of 78/81. But anyway obviously this is not for you - We wish you all the best at the aquarium as we would rather see them in the wild as they should be. MAHALO
star-5
Conquered fears
Melissa_C
, Feb 2022
The crew and experience were great! Will be back for this one since the mantas were shy the night we went!
icon Response from Host , May 2022
Aloha, Thank you for choosing Manta Adventures and taking the time to review your trip. We're glad you enjoyed the experience and hopefully next time the mantas won't be so shy. We hope to see you again, please don't hesitate to call for your next adventure in Kona. Mahalo, Manta Adventures Team
star-5
Amazong
Thierry_M
, Feb 2022
Very good experience. Manta ray were so close. This is amazong and unique. The crue was very kind and perfect
icon Response from Host , May 2022
Aloha, Thank you for choosing Manta Adventures and taking the time to review your trip. We are thrilled you enjoyed the experience and the crew! We hope to see you again, please don't hesitate to call for your next adventure in Kona. Mahalo, Manta Adventures Team
star-3
Rough seas
Steven_M
, Dec 2021
The crew was great, put we didn’t see any Manta Ray. The sea was rough and we floated in the cold water for about an hour. Sam the deck hand offered another trip,but NO vouchers were issued to any participants or refund. The Captain of the boat bragged on how he has the best lights out of any crew(boat) and still saw not even 1 Manta Ray! Several people got sea sick as well. Including my wife.. This was the worst part of our vacation.. Would I do it again?
icon Response from Host , Jan 2022
Aloha, Thank you for choosing Manta Adventures and taking the time to review your trip. We are sorry you didn't get any manta rays, we always honor getting guest back on if the mantas didn't show up. As I said on the boat just give us a call and we'll get you booked for another night. Unfortunately we can't control the ocean conditions or animals but if you wanted to try again the summer months are generally calmer at sea and warmer water temperatures. Mahalo, Manta Advenures
1 traveler found this review helpful
star-1
Hold a valid pass and was refused to get on board
Jinwen_X
, Dec 2021
Such a horrible experience! We booked from Viator and got confirmation email. Went straight to the harbor and showed them the pass. The lady refused to get us on board as she couldn’t find our reservation on her phone. She kept saying they were all booked full till Jan 2nd. We were left in a dilemma and this totally disrupted our schedule. We wasted almost four hours figuring out why this can happen and it finally turned out to be a “refund”. No solutions were given except a refund. If “refund” can help, can they “refund” our time? We only stay in the big island for two nights and this totally destroyed our expectation. Super disappointed and upset!
icon Response from Host , Dec 2021
Hi unfortunately you booked thru Viator which is a 3rd party booking service - They had problems with their API booking notification system which did not allow the booking to pass thru to our booing platform - we simply had no idea that you held a booking, which is a bad situation - please feel free to direct your anger towards Viator we are in the middle as well - this is why we always suggest booking directly on our site @ mantaadventures.com this will avoid any 3rd party booking mishaps - when you return to the big island in the future please contact me Capt Dan and i will offer you a free trip on us - again. sorry D
star-5
You have to do this at least once...
Joe_W
, Sep 2021
If you can float on your belly (and everyone floats in the ocean), this is a must for you... Captain Bill and Crew (Drew and Sam) were all great. We saw 4-5 Mantas for over 30 minutes right in our faces. There were baby tuna and needlefish as well. Thank you for the warm water rinse when we got back onto the boat. An Amazing trip for sure...
icon Response from Host , Oct 2021
Aloha, Thank you for choosing Manta Adventures and taking the time to review your trip. Thank you for the kind words and shout out! Its awesome to hear you had such a great trip. We hope to see you again, please don't hesitate to call for your next adventure in Kona. Mahalo, Manta Adventures
star-5
Worth every penny!
Jason_S
, Sep 2021
We saw 3 rays at the same time. Was interesting to watch how they interacted with us and with each other. Great trip… crew was professional and enjoyable!
icon Response from Host , Oct 2021
Aloha, Thank you for choosing Manta Adventures and taking the time to review your trip. We are thrilled you had such a good show and enjoyed the trip! Please don't hesitate to call for your next adventure in Kona. Mahalo, Manta Adventures
star-5
Best lights for manta rays
Alessandra_L
, Sep 2021
Great experience the crew was very knowledgeable and nice and made everyone feel safe. Their equipment is definitely superior to the other tours, while we were in the water there were other tours snorkeling and the manta rays were swimming only under our lights and did not care about the other lights. I would definitely recommend this tour above others.
icon Response from Host , Oct 2021
Aloha, Thank you for choosing Manta Adventures and taking the time to review your trip. We are so happy to hear you enjoyed the experience and found the crew to be knowledgeable. We have spent a lot time researching and trying out the best equipment and appreciate your acknowledgements. We hope to see you again, please don't hesitate to call for your next adventure in Kona. Mahalo, Manta Adventures
star-5
Captain and crew were so...
Ann_J
, Sep 2021
Captain and crew were so complete at instructions and were firm but still calm. Very nice crew! Very nice boat! And successful immediately on seeing manta rays 😎
icon Response from Host , Oct 2021
Aloha, Thank you for choosing Manta Adventures and taking the time to review your trip. We are so happy to hear you enjoyed the experience and the crew. Please don't hesitate to call for your next adventure in Kona. Mahalo, Manta Adventures
1 traveler found this review helpful
star-5
Amazing
Jeff_F
, Aug 2021
Captain and crew were very helpful and knowledgeable. Definitely a once in a lifetime thing to do. Water gets cold when holding on to board after a while.
icon Response from Host , Sep 2021
Aloha, Thank you for choosing Manta Adventures and taking the time to review your trip. We are happy you enjoyed the experience and the crew. It does get a bit chilly as the sun goes down, I hope the wet suits helped. We hope to see you again in the future. Please don't hesitate to call for your next adventure in Kona. Mahalo, Manta Adventures
star-5
Amazing Manta Rays
Dan_R
, Aug 2021
Watching the manta rays was a surreal and beautiful experience. Captain Bill was professional, knowledgeable and made it all feel seamless. The crew, Drew and Sam worked their butts off for us and we friendly and all around great. It is a trip worth doing!!
icon Response from Host , Sep 2021
Aloha, Thank you for choosing Manta Adventures and taking the time to review your trip. Thank you for the shout out and acknowledging our work. We are thrilled you enjoyed the experience! We hope to see you again in the future. Please don't hesitate to call for your next adventure in Kona. Mahalo, Manta Adventures
star-2
Manta Yes, Service No!!!
Jack_S
, Jul 2021
Let's start with the 2 stars of enjoyment.. the actual experience underwater was fantastic. Got to see Manta Rays up close and personal and loved every minute with my family. Was something to remember. Now let's talk about the major negative.. CUSTOMER SERVICE. I found out 2 days prior to our trip that the ages are 7 and up... yes an oversight by myself. I called the number on the website 2 days prior to let them know that I had 2 kids that were 5 and 6, and needed to take them off the trip as well as a senior( so she could stay and watch the children). I recieved no response. I then tried the messaging platform the next day and was told I could bring them but I would have to find a wet suit to fit them. I let them know that I was traveling here and had no means of finding wetsuits, could I please get a refund on those... no response. I showed up the next day for trip, and at check in asked about the refund, and was told ' sure, thats no big deal, we will make a note and let the captain know'. After the trip I gave it a few days and after seeing no refund I reached out to Viator and was told no refund as it was past the cancellation time frame, which it wasn't, just no one returned my call. I finally reached out to Dan at Manta Adventures and was told "we are no to going to refund sorry we have a wait list of over 50 people and we could have used the spots for these eligible people please do not send any more emails". BE AWARE, IF YOU BOOK, YOU ARE NOT GETTING A REFUND!!!! Also, don't expect anyone to return your messages if there is a problem. So upsetting to see Customer service ruining what would have been a good trip.
icon Response from Host , Jul 2021
hi the crazy train continues so embarrassing for him - you need to please please visit the other islands and let us be and enjoy the Aloha D
star-5
Fantastic!!!
Blue-rod
, Jul 2021
Just amazing!!!!! The mantas were extraordinary. Captain and staff were terrific! Highly recommend!!!
icon Response from Host , Sep 2021
Aloha, Thank you for choosing Manta Adventures and taking the time to review your trip. We appreciate your high review and are so glad you liked the experience. We hope to see you again. Please don't hesitate to call for your next adventure in Kona. Mahalo, Manta Adventures
star-5
Best Manta Ray Boat
Tiffany_A
, Jul 2021
Capt. Bill, Drew and Sam were amazing. They explained everything and made you feel at ease. They really want you to see the Rays and adjust the boards to make sure we are in the right spot. You are out in the water for about 45 minutes so it can get tiring but it is so amazing you don’t want to leave. You can go back on board if you tire but you can’t get back in once you get out. I highly recommend this boat. I think we saw the most Rays and were one of the last to leave.
icon Response from Host , Sep 2021
Aloha, Thank you for choosing Manta Adventures and taking the time to review your trip. Thank you for the kind words and shout out. We are so thrilled you got a good show and enjoyed the trip! Please don't hesitate to call for your next adventure in Kona. Mahalo, Manta Adventures
star-5
A must do!
Rebecca_B
, Jul 2021
Such an amazing experience! Captain Dan, Sam and Laiken were so friendly and genuinely wanted everyone to have a great experience. They get out to the spot early (to get the best spot), so you will be hanging out on a rocking boat for a little while- take your motion sickness pill if you are prone to it. There is a light snack, so you may want to bring a snack if you have a bigger appetite. Don’t miss this experience if you’re going to the Big Island!
icon Response from Host , Sep 2021
Aloha, Thank you for choosing Manta Adventures and taking the time to review your trip. Great advice on the motion sickness medication, the ocean can have a mind of it's own. We are happy you enjoyed the trip none the less and thank you for the shout out. We hope to see you again in the future. Please don't hesitate to give us a call for your next adventure in Kona. Mahalo, Manta Adventures
star-5
Could not have been better
barry_b
, Jul 2021
This trip could not have been better. It was one of those experiences that is difficult to describe to someone who didn’t see it. Having those beautiful huge mantas swim within inches of your face was amazing. The captain and the crew were amazing, very friendly and helpful. It is difficult to find the best words to describe what an overwhelming visual and emotional experience this was. I wish we were going again tonight!
icon Response from Host , Sep 2021
Aloha, Thank you for choosing Manta Adventures and taking the time to review your trip. Thank you for such kind words! We're thrilled you enjoyed the experience and crew so much. I can agree that its hard to describe the trip, it's really the type of thing you have to experience yourself. We hope to see you again soon. Please don't hesitate to call for your next adventure in Kona. Mahalo, Manta Adventures
star-5
Magical
Carlton
, May 2021
This was an interesting trip. Got to the dock at 4pm for a night snorkel. Greeted by the captain and crew (who were great and a lot of fun) and left on time. They provide a thin wet suit to help keep you buoyant, and warm. Got to the mooring buoy very early for a night dive - capt wanted the prime spot - which means you wait quite a while before heading into the water. If you get seasick - take your Dramamine!! Once in the water, the show was spectacular. You hang onto the light tower and the mantas swim beneath you. It was fantastic. I’m an experienced scuba diver and that might be the coolest thing I’ve ever seen underwater. This trip is a must if you get to the Big Island!!
icon Response from Host , Sep 2021
Aloha, Thank you for choosing Manta Adventures and taking the time to review your experience. We do get there early to ensure a safe and easy spot to view the mantas. Generally, if the water is calm we do some free snorkeling before hand to eat up the time and minimize that waiting around on the boat, I hope that was an option for your trip. None the less, we are happy you enjoyed the manta rays and found the experience to be a must. We hope to see you again in the future for more of your adventures. Mahalo, Manta Adventures
1 traveler found this review helpful
star-5
Once in a lifetime experience
Susan_F
, Feb 2021
A MA ZING! The captain and crew were very accommodating. We left early to be able to get the best Manta ray spot and boy did we. We saw several and they were full of energy. Rolls and flips for days right in front of our face. An experience of a lifetime!
icon Response from Host , Feb 2021
Aloha, Thank you for choosing Manta Adventures and taking the time to review your experience. We're thrilled that you felt so cared for by our caption and crew. We do our best to set our guests up with the most optimal viewing experience, which means getting there early! Please don't hesitate to contact us during your next visit. We look forward to providing you with another great adventure in the future! Mahalo, Manta Adventures
star-5
Spectacular!
Kevin_H
, Dec 2020
Way above expectations! The experience was fabulous! Excellent equipment - even the boat was far superior to the other vendors. The staff were experienced, talkative, happy and fun to be around. We viewed 4 or 5 large manta rays the whole time we were in the water. I was shocked that they swam within a few inches from where we were floating! It sounds like it might be scary but it was calm and peaceful in the water. I generally don't write reviews but it was such an amazing experience how could I not?
icon Response from Host , Feb 2021
Aloha, Thank you for choosing Manta Adventures and taking the time to review your experience. We're thrilled that you had such a spectacular time with us out on the water. We appreciate your kind words about our boat and pleasant crew. Please don't hesitate to contact us during your next visit. We look forward to providing you with another great adventure in the future! Mahalo, Manta Adventures

Why you are seeing these recommendations

Compare Similar Experiences

Current
Manta Ray Night Snorkel in Kona
Likely to Sell Out
Manta Ray Night Snorkel in Kona

star-5573

3 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$145.00

star-5780

1 hour 20 minutes

Free Cancellation

From
$93.00

star-4.5169

1 hour 30 minutes

Free Cancellation

From
$138.95

star-5203

5 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$182.67

star-5802

1 hour

Free Cancellation

From
$145.00

star-52184

2 hours 30 minutes

Free Cancellation

From
$85.00

star-5120

4 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$185.00

star-4.5338

1 hour 30 minutes

Free Cancellation

From
$129.95

star-5315

1 hour

Free Cancellation

From
$106.63
Why you are seeing these recommendations

Explore Similar Things to Do

Why you are seeing these recommendations