Recent Searches

Matanuska Glacier Walk

Badge of Excellence
Anchorage, United States
Matanuska Glacier Walk

From $299.00 / person

Price details
Lowest Price Guarantee
1 Traveler
0 travelers1 traveler2 travelers3 travelers4 travelers5 travelers6 travelers7 travelers8 travelers9 travelers10 travelers11 travelers12 travelers13 travelers14 travelers
No times available
Free cancellation
Up to 24 hours in advance. Learn more

Safety measures
icon8 hours  (Approx.)
Hotel pickup offered
Mobile ticket
iconOffered in: English


Head into the Alaskan wilderness, and discover extraordinary Arctic scenery, on this full-day trip to the Matanuska Glacier. In the early morning, meet your driver at your Anchorage hotel, and hop aboard your vehicle: It’s a roughly 2-hour drive to the glacier. Don crampons and a helmet, and immerse yourself in the frozen landscape: You’ll hike right on the glacier, will see ice caves and can spy wildlife, and more.
  • Leave the driving and logistics to someone else on this stress-free trip
  • Escape city limits and discover Alaska’s wild landscapes
  • Hike the Matanuska Glacier and learn more about the region
  • Safety gear, including helmets and crampons, is provided for your ease

Additional Details

Pickup included
Saved to wishlist!
Crampons and helmets are provided for your safety.
All additional fees associated with the park are included in price

Hmm...we can’t seem to find this place. Please check the spelling, or choose another location.

7:00 AM

Please arrive 15 minutes before your selected start time for pickup. Your operator can coordinate exact time and location.

We pickup and drop off at a location of your choice. We confirm the night before and followup with specific details the morning of. Rest assured we let you choose the best location for you. - We will contact you no later than 7:30pm on the night before your adventure. - We will contact you at 7:00 am and provide you with a specific time of arrival. - All pick-ups are scheduled between 7:00am and 8:00am. - If you are not contacted the night before by 7:30pm/am
  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
  • Not wheelchair accessible
  • Not recommended for travelers with back problems
  • Not recommended for pregnant travelers
  • No heart problems or other serious medical conditions
  • Most travelers can participate
  • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 150 travelers
  • OPERATED BY Anchorage Downtown TourGroup
You can cancel up to 24 hours in advance of the experience for a full refund.
  • For a full refund, you must cancel at least 24 hours before the experience’s start time.
  • If you cancel less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time, the amount you paid will not be refunded.
  • Any changes made less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time will not be accepted.
  • Cut-off times are based on the experience’s local time.

Learn more about cancellations.

The answers provided below are based on answers previously given by the tour provider to customers’ questions.
What is the policy on sanitization during Matanuska Glacier Walk?
A:The policies on sanitization are:

  • Hand sanitizer available to travelers and staff
  • Gear/equipment sanitized between use
  • Transportation vehicles regularly sanitized
See all safety measures taken by Matanuska Glacier Walk.
What measures are being taken to ensure staff health & safety during Matanuska Glacier Walk?
A:The policy on staff health & safety is:

  • Guides required to regularly wash hands
See all safety measures taken by Matanuska Glacier Walk.

Traveler Photos

See More
See More


46 Reviews
2 stars

Reviews by Viator travelers

Showing 1-10 of 46 reviews
Amazing experience
, Sep 2021
Amazing experience! Our driver Demetrius was very nice, friendly and accommodating. The glacier hike itself was amazing. It was a great experience all around and I would definitely go on this tour again
Rip off vs Self drive/Self-paid Tour.
, Aug 2021
Let me start off by saying that the ACTUAL glacier walk tour and the guy who the the guide while walking the glacier was super cool and undoubtably knowledgable. It was definitely awesome! My wife and I were walking on the glacier itself and learning facts about glaciers. The reason I'm giving this review a 3 star is because it was a rip off purchasing from Viator. I pretty much dropped approximately $600 worth of transportation, when you can drive yourself to the location. The driver was polite, but didn't say a LICK OF CONVERSATION in the almost 2 hr drive. To be honest I don't even know his name. We drove for 2 hr without any fun facts about Alaska. Furthermore, according to this Viator "what's included" there was suppose to be "snacks" and "lunch" included. Well, there was a stop to get lunch which I paid out of my own pocket. Not even offered a bottle of water. Sorry, but this was a waste of money when later we discovered that the walking tour itself was approx. $30-$50. Never again and I don't recommend this particular Viator tour.
icon Response from Host , Sep 2021
Please remove this horrible misrepresentation about our tour. We discussed at length all your accusations and responded immediately to your inquiry. We offer a quality tour that includes a fully narrated experience and water and snack along with lunch. I interviewed to other guests that travelled the day of your tour and they countered your claims with an excellent review. I was able to determine that YOU believed this took place. This is why I refunded a large portion of your tour in good faith. As for driving yourself. Yes it is offered at $100 per person and this year they did reduce it to $65 for the summer months. $30-$50 is only for locals. I assume you were visiting Alaska? This tour is $100 each if you drive yourself in the winter. Yes VIATOR does charge you more that I charge for this tour. They add the additional fees and charges not us. This tour sells in our office downtown Anchorage for $249. Again I am sorry that you feel you did not receive what you were promised. But calling us a "Rip-Off" is exaggerated at best. This is why I provided you a refund and conducted a full investigation of your claims. Please remove your slanderous review of our product. You are reporting untruths about this tour and what we proudly offer to our guests. After a disastrous year in 2020, we are lucky to still be operating with the limited staff we have. Please consider the impact an inflated negative review has on a small business like mine. Regards.
4 travelers found this review helpful
Terrible, horrible
, Aug 2021
First, the tour guide told me on the night before the tour that it was cancelled. It was a last minute cancellation and it was impossible to find an alternative. Second, no good communication. My phone had very very poor signal, most of time no signal, in Anchorage so I told the guide each time in the message through website and email that please contact me through my email and I gave my email address. But no contact through email, no reply, no updates. If my phone did not have signal the night before the tour, I would not even know about the change. Third, difficult to get refund. Now that the whole tour did not happen, the only thing truly meaningful is the refund. I called them, emailed them, messaged them. No reply, no refund.
icon Response from Host , Sep 2021
I am confused by your negative review. Please reach out to me personally my phone is 907-802-7444. I trust you have signal now that you have returned home. I take complaints like your very seriously and do everything in my power to provide the best customer service possible. If you did not receive a refund for a tour that we did not provide I will personally make sure this happens immediately. I must add that we are in Alaska and even our cell phones don't have signal. This is the Last Frontier and most rule Alaska is still not connected to the services you may be accustomed too. I do know that every hotel has a curtesy phone that is available for any guest to call locally at no charge. Additionally, our office is located in the heart of the city within walking distance of most major hotels. Once again please contact me personally so I may be able to assist you with your complaint. And please reconsider you negative portrayal of my business. I would never knowingly hold someones money as you are insinuating. Thank you.
1 traveler found this review helpful
Dream come true
, Aug 2021
Chris was a fantastic guide. I walked away with more knowledge about iceberg than I ever expected. The walk was a dream come true. Thanks Chris!
1 traveler found this review helpful
Amazing trip
, Jul 2021
It was an amazing trip. Our driver Dimitrius called us the night before to confirm pick up time and he was right on time. Lunch and snacks were included, and the tour itself was great! Loved all the information and being able to walk on a glacier. Highly recommended.
1 traveler found this review helpful
Must-do tour in Alaska!!! Amazing!!!
, Jul 2021
Pleasantly surprised with how awesome this tour was! Must-visit attraction in Alaska and choose Russ as your best tour operator! I am a solo female traveler and I was worried the tour will not go for just 1 person, but Russ Reno, the owner of Anchorage Downtown TourGroup, took me to Matanuska Glacier himself. He was very knowledgeable about the area. In case you have any questions prior to the tour, just give him a call and you’ll be able to sort it out. Lunch was also included which is a plus. I recommend.
Words from a teenage boy, and his mom.
, Jul 2021
The words from my 14 year old son," no specific highlights, it was just great all together." It was so beautiful, the water tasted great, the hike wasn't overly strenuous, you will definitely get dirty shoes, maybe pants, definitely fingers when you put on or take off the crampons, dirty aside, definitely worth the trip.
Incredible experience!
, Jun 2021
This was an incredible experience! Walking on the glacier was AMAZING and the drive there was scenic and stunning! Would definitely recommend, our tour guide on the glacier even let us do a ‘glacier facial.’ Overall, it was an incredible experience!
You have to do this
, Jun 2021
An amazing trip with my son. Levi was an awesome tour guide. Hope to be back soon to do more tours with Levi
My glacier walking experience
, Jun 2021
Walking on the glacier, the experience. The glacier guides where kind, friendly and knowledgeable. I enjoyed the trip very much, next time I would maybe choose a longer walk to take it all in at a slower pace. Ross picked us up at the hotel, he was nice and friendly and offered many insights about Alaska.
1 traveler found this review helpful

Product code: 112903P2

Compare Similar Experiences

Matanuska Glacier Walk
Matanuska Glacier Walk


8 hours

Free Cancellation



8 hours

Free Cancellation



2 hours

Free Cancellation



5 hours 15 minutes

Free Cancellation



10 hours

Free Cancellation



5 hours 30 minutes

Free Cancellation



3 hours

Free Cancellation



7 hours

Free Cancellation



1 hour 30 minutes

Free Cancellation


Explore Similar Things to Do