Recent Searches
Clear

Matanuska Glacier Walk

|
Badge of Excellence
|
Anchorage, United States
Matanuska Glacier Walk

Select Date and Travelers

Number of travelers
0 travelers1 traveler2 travelers3 travelers4 travelers5 travelers6 travelers7 travelers8 travelers9 travelers10 travelers11 travelers12 travelers13 travelers14 travelers
Free cancellation
Up to 24 hours in advance. Learn more
Loading available options...


Safety measures
icon8 to 9 hours  (approx.)
Hotel pickup offered
Mobile ticket
iconOffered in: English

Overview

Head into the Alaskan wilderness, and discover extraordinary Arctic scenery, on this full-day trip to the Matanuska Glacier. In the early morning, meet your driver at your Anchorage hotel, and hop aboard your vehicle: It’s a roughly 2-hour drive to the glacier. Don crampons and a helmet, and immerse yourself in the frozen landscape: You’ll hike right on the glacier, will see ice caves and can spy wildlife, and more.
  • Leave the driving and logistics to someone else on this stress-free trip
  • Escape city limits and discover Alaska’s wild landscapes
  • Hike the Matanuska Glacier and learn more about the region
  • Safety gear, including helmets and crampons, is provided for your ease
Saved to wishlist!
Snacks
Crampons and helmets are provided for your safety.
Lunch
Glacier ACCESS FEE $125.00 per person
Fuel increase by 30%, Glacier access increase $125 we were forced to raise our prices
Gratuities

Hmm...we can’t seem to find this place. Please check the spelling, or choose another location.

8:00 AM
WE DO NOT PICK UP AT THE ALYESKA HOTEL. We pickup and drop off at a location of your choice within the City Bowl (10 mile radius) We confirm the night before and followup with specific details the morning of. Rest assured we let you choose the best location for you. - We will contact you no later than 7:30pm on the night before your adventure. - We will contact you at 7:00 am and provide you with a specific time of arrival. - All pick-ups are scheduled between 7:00am and 8:00am. - If you are not contacted the night before by 7:30pm/am
  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
  • Not wheelchair accessible
  • Not recommended for travelers with back problems
  • Not recommended for pregnant travelers
  • No heart problems or other serious medical conditions
  • Most travelers can participate
  • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 150 travelers
  • OPERATED BY Anchorage Downtown TourGroup
You can cancel up to 24 hours in advance of the experience for a full refund.
  • For a full refund, you must cancel at least 24 hours before the experience’s start time.
  • If you cancel less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time, the amount you paid will not be refunded.
  • Any changes made less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time will not be accepted.
  • Cut-off times are based on the experience’s local time.
  • This experience requires good weather. If it’s canceled due to poor weather, you’ll be offered a different date or a full refund.

Learn more about cancellations.

The answers provided below are based on answers previously given by the tour provider to customers’ questions.
Q:
What is the policy on sanitization during Matanuska Glacier Walk?
A:The policies on sanitization are:

  • Hand sanitizer available to travelers and staff
  • Gear/equipment sanitized between use
  • Transportation vehicles regularly sanitized
See all safety measures taken by Matanuska Glacier Walk.
Q:
What measures are being taken to ensure staff health & safety during Matanuska Glacier Walk?
A:The policy on staff health & safety is:

  • Guides required to regularly wash hands
See all safety measures taken by Matanuska Glacier Walk.

Traveler Photos

See More
See More

Reviews

5.0
star-5
63 Reviews
2 stars
0

Reviews by Viator travelers

Showing 1-10 of 63 reviews
star-5
Beyond expectations
Teresa_F
, Apr 2022
Tent City Tour owner, Ryan, was awesome and made the ride up and back a real pleasure. Time on the ice was substantial. Walk was pleasant (many steps, but not rigorous). Included many breaks for photo ops, a sense of adventure and timelessness on this remarkable, unique, otherworldly land formation together with real camaraderie amongst the (small) group. Loved it.
icon Response from Host , May 2022
Ryan is the Owner of Tent City Tours. I am so glad you enjoyed your adventure. I will pass these kind words to Ryan. We share tours and guides. Great news. Thank You. Anchorage Downtown TourGroup
star-5
Matanuska Glacier
ANA_J
, Mar 2022
From begining yo end. It is the most amazing experience I ever had. The glacier are magestic structures of ice. Our tour guide was very knowleable and you learn a lot about the formation of the glacier
icon Response from Host , May 2022
So happy to hear you enjoyed. So sorry it has taken so long to provide you a response. Hope your travels bring you back to alaska someday.
star-5
Beautiful hike through the glacier fields
Scott_R
, Mar 2022
The glacier hike was incredible. We got to experience the Matanuska glacier up close and personal. We hiked right through the terminus of this 27 mile long glacier. Got to slide down the “ice slide”, walk through a slot canyon of ice slabs. The colors were spectacular. It was a surreal experience I will never forget.
star-5
Casey was very...
Kecy_W
, Mar 2022
Casey was very knowledgeable and our experience was really fun. She made sure we had time to take photos and showed us a variety of places.
star-5
Beautiful and informative!
Allison_P
, Mar 2022
The glacier was incredible, our guide Thomas was both entertaining and knowledgeable. I highly recommend! The driver to the glacier Paul was also great with Airbnb pick up! My only small complaint would be the van was way too hot even after shedding all layers.
star-5
The perfect experience
Maryia_P
, Feb 2022
Everyone must try Glacier Walk in Alaska! There is no words to describe this experience, it was awesome!! You need to try it on yourself!
star-5
Dream come true
Larisa_S
, Feb 2022
From start to end a great experience. Our driver kept us entertained, the lunch was delicious and the tour of the glacier was a dream come true. Our guide was knowledgeable and so much fun. A true must do while in Anchorage.
star-5
Safe, epic, knowledgeable
Steven_C
, Feb 2022
Russ is unparalleled in his knowledge of Alaskas history. His stories of the state made me fall in love with this area even more. His knowledge of the glacier and how to stay safe on the glacier made me feel comfortable and safe! He goes the extra distance to ensure you have the time of your life. 10/10 will recommend and use again.
star-5
Highly recommend!
Stephanie_B
, Feb 2022
Despite being the only person scheduled for the tour, Russ made the tour a great experience! He is very knowledgeable about the Anchorage area and Alaska as a whole. He had many diverse ideas of what to show on the tour. His car is very comfortable. Would highly recommend!
star-5
Great trip
Danny_m
, Feb 2022
Knowledge of the host. He explained all of the areas we when thru. Great experience. He alway showed and provided in great detail the areas as we traveled thru them.
icon Response from Host , Feb 2022
Thank you for the kind words. I hope you are able to return some day.
star-5
Magical
diana_t
, Dec 2021
I had such an amazing time with Sky and Ken. They were such an amazing pair of tour guides. I had a blast and it was definitely a magical experience.
icon Response from Host , Feb 2022
So happy you enjoyed your adventure. I will forward you kind words to both Sky and Ken. Cheers.
star-5
Best outdoor experience ever
Qianhua_G
, Dec 2021
The view of the glacier is gorgeous! Astonishing beauty. And Russ is nice, responsible, and humorous. He really gives us a wonderful travel experience.
icon Response from Host , Feb 2022
Thank you for the compliments. I truly enjoy showing travelers my part of the world.
star-5
Great tour
Minyi_P
, Nov 2021
Great tour! Russ shared lots of good information about Anchorage and Alaska while we drove to glacier. He also stopped by multiple breathtaking viewing spots for us to take pictures.
icon Response from Host , Feb 2022
It was a perfect day to tour. I am glad you enjoyed your adventure. Cheers.
star-5
Amazing experience
Becca_A
, Sep 2021
Amazing experience! Our driver Demetrius was very nice, friendly and accommodating. The glacier hike itself was amazing. It was a great experience all around and I would definitely go on this tour again
star-3
Rip off vs Self drive/Self-paid Tour.
Daniel_G
, Aug 2021
Let me start off by saying that the ACTUAL glacier walk tour and the guy who the the guide while walking the glacier was super cool and undoubtably knowledgable. It was definitely awesome! My wife and I were walking on the glacier itself and learning facts about glaciers. The reason I'm giving this review a 3 star is because it was a rip off purchasing from Viator. I pretty much dropped approximately $600 worth of transportation, when you can drive yourself to the location. The driver was polite, but didn't say a LICK OF CONVERSATION in the almost 2 hr drive. To be honest I don't even know his name. We drove for 2 hr without any fun facts about Alaska. Furthermore, according to this Viator "what's included" there was suppose to be "snacks" and "lunch" included. Well, there was a stop to get lunch which I paid out of my own pocket. Not even offered a bottle of water. Sorry, but this was a waste of money when later we discovered that the walking tour itself was approx. $30-$50. Never again and I don't recommend this particular Viator tour.
icon Response from Host , Sep 2021
Please remove this horrible misrepresentation about our tour. We discussed at length all your accusations and responded immediately to your inquiry. We offer a quality tour that includes a fully narrated experience and water and snack along with lunch. I interviewed to other guests that travelled the day of your tour and they countered your claims with an excellent review. I was able to determine that YOU believed this took place. This is why I refunded a large portion of your tour in good faith. As for driving yourself. Yes it is offered at $100 per person and this year they did reduce it to $65 for the summer months. $30-$50 is only for locals. I assume you were visiting Alaska? This tour is $100 each if you drive yourself in the winter. Yes VIATOR does charge you more that I charge for this tour. They add the additional fees and charges not us. This tour sells in our office downtown Anchorage for $249. Again I am sorry that you feel you did not receive what you were promised. But calling us a "Rip-Off" is exaggerated at best. This is why I provided you a refund and conducted a full investigation of your claims. Please remove your slanderous review of our product. You are reporting untruths about this tour and what we proudly offer to our guests. After a disastrous year in 2020, we are lucky to still be operating with the limited staff we have. Please consider the impact an inflated negative review has on a small business like mine. Regards.
5 travelers found this review helpful
star-1
Terrible, horrible
Ling_Y
, Aug 2021
First, the tour guide told me on the night before the tour that it was cancelled. It was a last minute cancellation and it was impossible to find an alternative. Second, no good communication. My phone had very very poor signal, most of time no signal, in Anchorage so I told the guide each time in the message through website and email that please contact me through my email and I gave my email address. But no contact through email, no reply, no updates. If my phone did not have signal the night before the tour, I would not even know about the change. Third, difficult to get refund. Now that the whole tour did not happen, the only thing truly meaningful is the refund. I called them, emailed them, messaged them. No reply, no refund.
icon Response from Host , Sep 2021
I am confused by your negative review. Please reach out to me personally my phone is 907-802-7444. I trust you have signal now that you have returned home. I take complaints like your very seriously and do everything in my power to provide the best customer service possible. If you did not receive a refund for a tour that we did not provide I will personally make sure this happens immediately. I must add that we are in Alaska and even our cell phones don't have signal. This is the Last Frontier and most rule Alaska is still not connected to the services you may be accustomed too. I do know that every hotel has a curtesy phone that is available for any guest to call locally at no charge. Additionally, our office is located in the heart of the city within walking distance of most major hotels. Once again please contact me personally so I may be able to assist you with your complaint. And please reconsider you negative portrayal of my business. I would never knowingly hold someones money as you are insinuating. Thank you.
1 traveler found this review helpful
star-5
Dream come true
Susan_B
, Aug 2021
Chris was a fantastic guide. I walked away with more knowledge about iceberg than I ever expected. The walk was a dream come true. Thanks Chris!
1 traveler found this review helpful
star-5
Amazing trip
Paola_P
, Jul 2021
It was an amazing trip. Our driver Dimitrius called us the night before to confirm pick up time and he was right on time. Lunch and snacks were included, and the tour itself was great! Loved all the information and being able to walk on a glacier. Highly recommended.
1 traveler found this review helpful
star-5
Must-do tour in Alaska!!! Amazing!!!
Egle
, Jul 2021
Pleasantly surprised with how awesome this tour was! Must-visit attraction in Alaska and choose Russ as your best tour operator! I am a solo female traveler and I was worried the tour will not go for just 1 person, but Russ Reno, the owner of Anchorage Downtown TourGroup, took me to Matanuska Glacier himself. He was very knowledgeable about the area. In case you have any questions prior to the tour, just give him a call and you’ll be able to sort it out. Lunch was also included which is a plus. I recommend.
star-5
Words from a teenage boy, and his mom.
Bobbie_S
, Jul 2021
The words from my 14 year old son," no specific highlights, it was just great all together." It was so beautiful, the water tasted great, the hike wasn't overly strenuous, you will definitely get dirty shoes, maybe pants, definitely fingers when you put on or take off the crampons, dirty aside, definitely worth the trip.

Compare Similar Experiences

Current
Matanuska Glacier Walk
Matanuska Glacier Walk

star-563

8 to 9 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$349.00

star-580

8 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$289.00

star-56

10 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$299.00

star-420

8 hours 25 minutes

Free Cancellation

From
$129.00

star-547

3 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$595.00

star-590

5 hours 15 minutes

Free Cancellation

From
$229.00

star-4.524

N/A

Free Cancellation

From
$990.00

star-4.581

5 hours 30 minutes

Free Cancellation

From
$199.00

Explore Similar Things to Do