Recent Searches
Clear

Anchorage Aurora Quest - Northern Lights Photo Tour

star-4.528 Reviews
|
Badge of Excellence
|
Anchorage, United States
Anchorage Aurora Quest - Northern Lights Photo Tour

Select Date and Travelers

Number of travelers
2 Adults3 Adults4 Adults5 Adults6 Adults7 Adults8 Adults9 Adults10 Adults0 Youths1 Youth2 Youths3 Youths4 Youths5 Youths6 Youths7 Youths8 Youths9 Youths10 Youths
Free cancellation
Up to 24 hours in advance. Learn more
Loading available options...


Safety measures
icon6 hours  (Approx.)
Hotel pickup offered
Mobile ticket
iconOffered in: English and 1 more
Good for avoiding crowds

Overview

Set out on a nocturnal adventure to see the Northern Lights with this photography-focused tour departing from Anchorage. Get picked up at your hotel and go in search of Aurora Borealis, or the Northern Lights, with a small-group tour. Learn new photography skills and try your hand at capturing the dazzling light show of the Northern Lights with your camera.
  • Discover the beauty of the Northern Lights in Alaska
  • Witness one of nature’s most dazzling displays
  • Get personalized advice for new photography skills
  • Round-trip transportation is included
Saved to wishlist!
Coffee and/or Tea
Snacks
Tripod
Private transportation
Parking Fees
State park admission fees
Professional photographer guide
Blanket
Gratuities
This operator has two meet-up options available. You can either meet at the departure point below or select a location for pick-up.
Visit Anchorage Log Cabin Visitor Information Center , 546 W 4th Ave, Anchorage, AK 99501, USA

Look for the black Alaska Photo Treks van on the Fourth Avenue side of the Log Cabin.

Hmm...we can’t seem to find this place. Please check the spelling, or choose another location.

10:00 PM

After booking, the operator will contact you about pickup time.

This activity will end right where it started.To be clear, we DO NOT pick up at the Alyeska Resort in Girdwood. Travelers staying there will be directed to meet at a designated location in Anchorage. Timing of pick up will depend upon how many travelers are on the tour that evening. A schedule is sent out the day of the tour with times and locations for pick up. The last pick up location is always at the start time of the tour.
  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
  • Not wheelchair accessible
  • Service animals allowed
  • Near public transportation
  • Infants must sit on laps
  • No heart problems or other serious medical conditions
  • Most travelers can participate
  • Not recommended for small children
  • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 10 travelers
  • OPERATED BY Alaska Photo Treks
You can cancel up to 24 hours in advance of the experience for a full refund.
  • For a full refund, you must cancel at least 24 hours before the experience’s start time.
  • If you cancel less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time, the amount you paid will not be refunded.
  • Any changes made less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time will not be accepted.
  • Cut-off times are based on the experience’s local time.
  • This experience requires good weather. If it’s canceled due to poor weather, you’ll be offered a different date or a full refund.
  • This experience requires a minimum number of travelers. If it’s canceled because the minimum isn’t met, you’ll be offered a different date/experience or a full refund.

Learn more about cancellations.

The answers provided below are based on answers previously given by the tour provider to customers’ questions.
Q:
What is the policy on face masks and attendee health during Anchorage Aurora Quest - Northern Lights Photo Tour?
A:The policies on face masks and attendee health are:

  • Face masks required for travelers in public areas
  • Face masks required for guides in public areas
See all safety measures taken by Anchorage Aurora Quest - Northern Lights Photo Tour.
Q:
What is the policy on sanitization during Anchorage Aurora Quest - Northern Lights Photo Tour?
A:The policies on sanitization are:

  • Hand sanitizer available to travelers and staff
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
  • Gear/equipment sanitized between use
  • Transportation vehicles regularly sanitized
See all safety measures taken by Anchorage Aurora Quest - Northern Lights Photo Tour.
Q:
What measures are being taken to ensure staff health & safety during Anchorage Aurora Quest - Northern Lights Photo Tour?
A:The policies on staff health & safety are:

  • Guides required to regularly wash hands
  • Regular temperature checks for staff
  • Paid stay-at-home policy for staff with symptoms
See all safety measures taken by Anchorage Aurora Quest - Northern Lights Photo Tour.

Traveler Photos

See More
See More

Reviews

4.5
star-4.5
28 Reviews
2 stars
0
1 star
0

Reviews by Viator travelers

Showing 1-9 of 28 reviews
star-5
Very good experience with an awesome photographer
Xiang_F
, Dec 2021
The guide/driver took the group to a few places. it is a bit cloudy at the beginning but much more clearer after that. The guide has prepared good photo shooting equipment that can monitor the aurora outside remotely with us waiting in the car instead of freezing out (so f...ing cold). The guide took some good photos for us and the aurora and airdropped to our phone. So glad joining this trip otherwise our phone can never take such good photos.
icon Response from Host , Dec 2021
Thank for the review! It has been rather cold this winter and it's good to know our guide kept you comfortable while you waited for auroras to show. Especially good to hear you saw the lights!
star-5
Wonderful Experience
John_K
, Dec 2021
What a wonderful experience we had last night seeing the Northern Lights! Our guide, Glenn, was great - he was able to find a location where we could see the lights. He was very friendly and helpful, and he took some great photos that he shared with everyone. Making our booking was easy, and Jody was great in communicating with us.
icon Response from Host , Dec 2021
Thank you for your great review! There are so many determining factors to seeing the northern lights and we try to make it easy and provide as many successful outcomes as possible. It's good to hear we did!
star-3
Disappointing experience
Carlos_S
, Nov 2021
Nothing, other the tour guide is polite. We didn't see the northern lights not any single of it. I hope they should reschedule us to do the hunting again since it costs us a lot for this tour which is so promising that we will be able to see it. Unfortunately we didn't see anything of it. Please give us even half of the refund or reschedule as even today to see the northern lights it was so disappointing.
icon Response from Host , Nov 2021
Hi. Thank you for the time in providing us review. I am sorry that you did not get to see the northern lights; it is an unfortunate thing that does happen because it is a natural phenomenon. We do not offer a refund for not seeing the northern lights, because we cannot control its appearance. We do, however, offer as a regular part of our policies to provide a free “make up tour” to those who did not see the northern lights. We just need to be already running on a tour on the date of your reschedule. I know the forecast does not look good for the next several days, and we will not likely be running the tour as a result. If you are going to be in town for a while, just contact our office to see if we can reschedule you.
star-3
Bummed
Linda_M
, Oct 2021
Unfortunately my booking was cancelled as the moon and aura wasn’t in our favor. I wasn’t able to reschedule since my trip was ending. I gave average rate because the site was easy to use and I was contacted early enough to make other plans. Waiting for my refund to go through now.
icon Response from Host , Oct 2021
I am sorry that your tour was cancelled, but we strongly believe in only proceeding with a tour if there is a chance of seeing the northern lights. For your tour night, there was a quiet aurora forecast (Kp1), a 90% illuminated moon, and overcast/cloudy conditions. As stated in our published policies, we do not proceed with a tour under those conditions. Both the weather and the northern lights are natural phenomena, and can be challenging to plan specific nights to see the aurora. If you come to Alaska again in the non-summer months, we encourage you to book a northern lights tour early during your visit so that you have a chance to reschedule if the weather does not cooperate.
1 traveler found this review helpful
star-5
Great!
Sarah_W
, Oct 2021
Carl made this experience great. We had to go to a couple places but he knew where to take us to ensure we saw the lights. Took pictures and shared them with the group.
icon Response from Host , Oct 2021
I am so glad you enjoyed the tour! It was a pleasure to have you join us, and a real treat to share the beauty of the northern lights with you.
star-4
It was a great tour with...
Andrew_R
, Oct 2021
It was a great tour with good locations to see the lights, they helped set up your cameras so you could take pictures as well as took a portrait of you with their camera!
icon Response from Host , Oct 2021
So glad you enjoyed the tour! We do endeavor to help people enjoy the experience of chasing the northern lights. Let us know if there was anything else we could have done to help you enjoy the night.
star-5
The expertise of our tour...
Lisa_B
, Oct 2021
The expertise of our tour guide Carl and the northern lights that we saw with our eyes and then viewed again through the lenses of his camera. We received copies of the incredible photos he took as part of the paxkafe.
icon Response from Host , Oct 2021
Thank you for the wonderful feedback! I am so glad you enjoyed the experience so much.
star-5
Great opportunity
Claudia_C
, Sep 2021
We have a hard time to see the surreal lights but we were successful , the clouds did not want to cooperate to much with . I will not change this experience for nothing .
icon Response from Host , Oct 2021
I am happy that you had a chance to see the northern lights - it is something we work hard to do! I am glad you enjoyed the tour.
star-4
Good experience
Kristie_M
, Sep 2021
The tour was excellent and our guide Ben was very knowledgeable. It was a shame that as the lights came out the clouds moved in.
icon Response from Host , Oct 2021
I am so glad to hear that Ben took good care of you, and happy you had a chance to see the northern lights.

Compare Similar Experiences

Current
Anchorage Aurora Quest - Northern Lights Photo Tour
Anchorage Aurora Quest - Northern Lights Photo Tour

star-4.528

6 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$255.39

star-529

4 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$173.34

star-3.58

10 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$275.00

star-00

30 minutes

Free Cancellation

From
$258.51

star-51

6 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$170.00

star-5164

8 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$229.00

star-56

4 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$105.00

star-4.524

12 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$227.20

star-4.51862

1 hour

Free Cancellation

From
$20.00

Explore Similar Things to Do